1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The plasma was to high... so...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by woodgaz, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    My missus went out for a girlie night out a couple of months ago, leaving me alone in the house with a PC in one room and a plasma in the other. One thing led to another and before I knew it I had Deus Ex Invisble War on a 42" screen! Superb!
    Four hours later, missus comes back and I notice something... a crick in my neck!
    Realisation! 'The screen's too high!'
    From our normal semi horizontal viewing position it had seemed ok but sitting upright to play a game had made it apparent.
    The reason it was where it was was because of the mantlepiece...
    The mantlepiece is connected to the fireplace...
    The fireplace is connected to the wall...
    The walls are connected to each other and covered in paper and plaster...
    Some walls have windows in them...
    See the pics below and follow the evolution....
    I will talk you through the channel chasing and steps in the process if anyone is interested.
    Oh... I may put up a photo of what it looks like now too... after I've finished sanding floorboards later today...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Get a tilting wall bracket mate................
     
  3. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Already got one! Thanks for the suggestion though, you obviously thought it through.
    The remodel wasn't JUST to lower the screen. I had bought a new amp and speakers and was sick of my cables draping about the place.
    I just finished the floor today and was going to post how I put the cables in the walls etc as there isn't much info on that on here and its seems like something most people want to know about.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    no worries mate if you have found an easy and clean way to channel walls that would be very interesting....
     
  5. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I borrowed a mates wall chaser to do the channels.
    These things are the nuts and you can hire them from HSS for about £25 a day (it takes 3 minutes to cut 1 channel).
    It has two parallel diamond blades and depending on the model can cut down to about 35mm through plaster, concrete and brick.
    You then take a hammer and cold chisel and knock out the material between the cuts. Plaster and brick come out v. easily - concrete is a bit harder but still not too bad. (10 minutes to chisel out plaster and brick - 20 for concrete)

    You then drill a couple of holes, put in a couple of clips (which you may have to chisel a bit more room for) and slap your conduit in there (see pic).
    Then whack your wires in and get your plasterers to do their bit (see pic).
    For the plasma cables I put in a MUCH bigger pipe (see pic in 1st post) so I could add cables later if I wanted and also so I could put a power lead and the component lead down the pipe without having to cut the connectors off and reattach.
    For this I used the chaser again but did two channels next to each other then knocked them into one. I then stuck a 40mm plastic sink waste pipe in the gap with expanding foam. I cut the pipe off at an angle at the plasma end then filled in the bulk of the gap with a pastic bag (to allow easy chipping out later if required). I cut a small piece of conduit as a grommet and cut the side of it to allow me to put the cables into it. I then filled the gap with Polyfilla around the conduit so there is room for the cables to move back and forth through the smaller hole. (see pic). This has worked really well and allowed me to conceal the cables whilst giving me the option to change later if necc.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fireplace wall nows looks like this... and speakers like this...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. phils_wicked

    phils_wicked
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luton (UK)
    Ratings:
    +16
    wow that looks much nicer, does the heat from the fireplace affect the sceen at all?

    I might actualy get around to mounting my lcd on the wall one day lol

    Well done!

    *edited due to lack of typing skills*
     
  8. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    The fire isn't actually working just yet but I used it before occasionally when the screen was higher and it was fine, there was a mantle and surround which blocked most of the heat. I held my hand up under the screen and you couldn't feel any heat at all when it was on.
    Now the fire can be placed right back in the chimney as the fireback etc has been removed so there shouldn't be any heat coming up.
    Fire is pretty much decorative anyway and would maybe be used once a month if that.
    When I have finished building in the cupboards, tiling the hearth etc I will post a 'finished' picture. Glad you like it. Thanks!
     
  9. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Did you get a corgi registered bloke round to remove the old fire?
     
  10. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not yet. The gas is capped off by a tap in the cupboard so that is turned off and when I come to refit the fire there will be a CORGI dude doing it - yes. I don't mess with gas or electric, not worth messing it up!
     
  11. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Just wondered cos I am ripping my fireplace out next weekend and wondered how easy it was to disconnect the fire myself...
    I dont know where the gas tap is for my fire so I suppose I will have to pay someone to do it for me ;-(
    Its an old 1970s fire by the looks!
     
  12. EpsomJames

    EpsomJames
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Wow, spooky! Not only is this exactly what I'm doing at the moment, but I'm also considering the same Orb Audio speakers paired with an AVR-2805.

    So far I have ripped out the existing mantelpiece and fire which was never plumbed in and I have a new inset gas fire on order. I was a little concerned about having the plasma on the wall not that far above the fire, but after seeing the fire in the showroom the heat is pushed out rather than up, and I'll probably only use the fire for effect occasionally anyway (the central heating is more than enough). My job is a little easier than yours though as the walls are plasterboard (dob and dab on thermalite bricks), which is a cinch to channel. Pictures coming soon hopefully.

    How do you find the speakers with the Denon amp? When I mentioned to the mrs that the only place to audition the Orbs was NY or LA, she said she didn't have a problem with that!

    Looks great BTW so far. How about some more pictures of your progress?
     
  13. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Vast improvement and I don't just refer to the colour! I jest (I'm not anti-red, infact my accent walls are following in Moviemikes steps and going Brinjal!). Neat job, looks a hell of a lot better now all the cables are chased. Wish I'd have known about the cool gizmo..I spent days chasing out with a chisel, never again I hope!

    Those Orbs are cool. All you need now is a classic Aarnio Eero chair to kick back in true chic slacker style.. you can even get the Ball chair with built in speakers. Would be nice to play games from..

    Compliment your Orbs with http://www.eero-aarnio.com/index.cfm/page/8/title/Ball_Chair.htm Go On!
     
  14. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Epsom James. Not spooky at all! You obviously did your research and have great taste!
    I will preface all my statements with the fact that I am not an audio expert AT ALL but am becoming more experienced with time.
    I didn't demo the Orbs - I just read a lot on the web and took a leap of faith.
    Same with the amp. I had an all in one for 4 years which had served me well but it was time to join the big boys and I am delighted with both purchases.
    I didnt have the Orbs when I first got the amp so I had my old speakers hooked up and I was blown away by the difference from the old amp.
    THEN the Orbs arrived and things took another leap.
    The clarity of them is GREAT, I am hearing things in movies I never noticed before.
    I am in LA right now and have looked in a few AV shops and not seen the Orbs, one shop hadnt even heard of them. I have been well happy with them though and they are great for the price. Consider that the dollar hit its lowest against the pound on Tuesday since 1992 and there's another fine reason for getting them NOW!
    I have them paired up with a BK XLS 200 and its a great combo for me, I am sure a lot of the guys who really know there stuff on here would tell me it sounds crap and I have it all set up wrong but it does me very nicely and I am sure I will learn how to get the best out of it with time.
    Thanks for the +ve comments (you too Digisoc) and I will post the latest pics when I get back to Blighty. Right now I am being blown away by HDTV.... why don't we have that? Would my PW6 do it justice?
     
  15. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Digisocialist.
    Cool chair! Yeah, all I need is that and that new B+W P1 subwoofer (only a grand - cough splutter!) and nooone will ever be able to accuse me of having no balls ever again!!
     
  16. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Woodgaz, Indeed! As you're in LA I presume you're loaded so you should shell out 3 grand for the Ball Chair - A True 60's Classic and not out of place in todays realisation of modernity! Other chairs to compliment your Orbs on a similar theme are
    The Pastil Chair http://www.eero-aarnio.com/index.cfm/page/24/title/Pastil_Chair.htm &
    The Bubble Chair http://www.eero-aarnio.com/index.cfm/page/23/title/Bubble_Chair.htm
    :)

    I thought HDTV broadcast was running on one of the Euro channels... nevertheless it still remains absent to mainstream. Perhaps we should all sign the following:

    http://www.petitiononline.com/HDTVinEU/petition.html
     
  17. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Digi,
    Not loaded unfortunately but the missus is a Yank so I get to take advantage of the weak dollar on a regular basis.
    Epsom James requested more photos so plaease find below.
    I have a slab of mahogany (an old bar top) which I got off Ebay and will be putting on the cupboard tops in time. There will be lights in the top shining up through the glass shelves in the bar.
    All my kit is in the left hand cupboard and there is a sensor which picks up the remote control signals and relays them to the devices inside via an IR repeater. Keeps it all neat looking.
    It tends to get quite warm in the cupboard though so I will be leaving a ventilation gap when I put the new tops on.
    I got some wireless controllers (RF) for the Xbox while I was in the states too.
    I am getting it modded and putting a 120Gb HDD in it so I can put all my MP3's on it and use it as a music server. It will also be linked to the wireless LAN and will allow me to view media from my PC as well.
    Almost there boys... almost there...
    A quick question. After being so impressed with HDTV over in the states I began to wonder if my setup will do it.... as good as the PW6 is meant to be I don't think it has a high enough resolution does it? Also, will it do stuff in 720p when I mod my Xbox?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. scw

    scw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Woodgaz

    Your mod looks great…not too dissimilar to what I’m doing, although I was going to go for a 32inch screen as my room is not that large.

    Can you give us an idea of how big your room is and how far the viewing distance is when sitting in front of the plasma?

    Cheers
     
  19. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi scw,

    The room isn't large. I am 8 to 9ft away from the screen when sitting on the sofa.
    Are you going for a plasma or an LCD?
    What are you going to be doing with it?
    Thanks for the compliment, I will post the final shots when I get round to putting the lighting in the 'bar' and get the new fire in and new tops on.

    Cheers
    G.
     
  20. scw

    scw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I was going to go for a LCD mainly because they I supposed to be less likely to be damaged by moving around. I’m a photographer and want the option of being able to move the screen into my studio for slideshow demonstrations from time to time!

    Viewing distance when used for normal TV and movie watching would only be about eight feet and as much as I’d like a bigger screen, I thing that anything bigger would maybe be pushing it. It’s a shame really because a 42 inch Panasonic like yours can be picked up for about the same price as a 32 inch LCD.

    My room is 14 feet long and 12 feet wide (into the alcoves). The chimney is 5 feet wide and protrudes into the room about 14 inches. I am going to mount the TV on the chimneybreast and build a cabinet into and over the fireplace opening to site my amp/dvd etc.

    The alcoves are open and I was thinking about going with a set of Monitor Audio S10 floor standing speakers as the main speakers, but I’m now concerned that they will also be too big for the room as well.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...