The Panasonic Panel TH-42PH10 and TH-50PH10 different Pixel Counts

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by chris2922, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. chris2922

    chris2922
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    The Panasonic TH-50PH10EK-ES:
    Number of pixels: 1,049,088 (1,366 x 768)

    The Panasonic TH-42PH10EK-ES:
    Number of pixels: 786,432 (1,024 x 768)

    I cant afford the 50" PH10 as i have about £800 to spend, so im considering the 42" PH10 but im not sure why its native resolution is 1024x768? Id have thought a 16:9 panel would need a 1366x768 or 1280x720 resolution to display an HD wide screen picture correctly.

    I'm going to connect my panel to a PC as its main source, for dvds and playback of stored video. A bit of media center, just without 'Media Center'.
    The reason ive come to the Panel camp, is because im concerned that the scaling and video processing in TVs will get in the way of a good picture from my PC (and any other devices i try and 'pixel match').

    Now ive seen that the 42" panel has a 1024x768 screen though, im wondering if its a good idea to feed it 1366x768 or 1280x720. Doesnt this mean that to pixel match the source and the panel id have to set my pc to 1024x768?

    How is this any use for HD signals of 1280x720 and 1366x768?

    Sorry if i dont know what im talking about, ive read as many of the posts in the Panasonic Panel threads i can without getting a serious headache.

    Also, does the PH10 accept its native resolution over and HDMI or DVI board? I presume it would be HDCP compliant then too.
     
  2. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Just feed it 1024x768 with the aspect ratio altered. Most media playing software can do that.

    It does accept NR over DVI but only at 60Hz so VGA is the way to go with a HTPC, if you've got European material.
     
  3. chris2922

    chris2922
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    So if im playing a 720p DivX file for example, Windows would have to downsize to 'full screen' 1024x768 in order to view it on the PH10?
     
  4. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
  5. chris2922

    chris2922
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok, that makes sense thanks (bookmarked!), but it seems like Windows is doing the work there, and i can't rely on Media Player all the time.

    My bro's PX70 has a 1366x768 resolution, and allthough it doesnt accept this via the HDMI ports, it looks ok via VGA. I thought the PH10 would be better suited to HD over HDMI and VGA but im not convinced it is.
    I'm concerned about 'HD Ready'ness i suppose.

    If an external '720p HD Source' that doesnt have Windows there to change the aspect ratio of the 4:3 image is connected up to the PH10 over vga or HDMI, I dont see how it could pixel match that picture and fill the screen - and i thought pixel matching was the whole point of Panels?
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Nothing ever pixel matches except PC, even 'full HD' stuff rarely does because of built in overscan. On your budget, you are looking at the very best available, it will be great, don't worry. Yes, if you had a 50 it would be easier in some ways, but ALL 42" suffer this, except the new PZ range, and it seems they are out of budget.
     

Share This Page

Loading...