1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The official benQ PB6100 tweakers thread.

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cyberheater, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    Here is a collection of information I've gathered on the web about the BenQ PB6100 PJ.

    Service Menu (be very carefull here. It might be worth writing down all the setting first):-

    PRESS AND HOLD UP BUTTON UNTIL LAMP HOURS ARE DISPLAYED
    PRESS THE POWER AND BLANK BUTTONS TOGETHER
    YOU WILL NOW BE AT THE FACTORY SETTINGS MENU.

    To improve the image in economy mode:-

    To improve blacks and get rid of sparklies, I changed a couple of
    settings.

    note: I am using Economode:-

    White Peak: 10 to 0
    DLP Brightness: lowered it a bit
    DLP Conrast: lowered it a bit
    PW Gamma: From Linear to .8


    How to build a Component to VGA cable

    Check out here Cable

    I'll add more stuff to this thread when I find it.
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Not worth the effort. Get a cable from ebuyer.com - a "Belkin Pro Series High Performance 5 BNC Monitor Cable 1.8m" for just over £10 + VAT (Quickfind Code: 28640). This has 5 BNC plugs for the component outputs, usually for connection to expensive component VGA screens. You can either cut the BNC's off and solder some RCA phono jacks, or buy some BNC<>phono adaptors from Maplin Electronics. Works very well !
     
  3. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    I wonder if Maplins does the actual cable.

    I've just checked. They do a cheapy one for around 15 quid.

    :thumbsup:
     
  4. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    I've just built my 5 metre Component to VGA from a old good quality monitor extension cable for nought. :)

    Just got to wait for my PJ that should arrive tomorrow.
     
  5. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    Service Menu Options

    BenQ PB6200 Service Menu Hierarchy and Options

    1. Three Wavy Vertical Lines
    CW Delay (15000)
    White Peak (0)
    DLP Brightness (32)
    DLP Contrast (32)
    Burn-In Hour (0)
    Burn-In (1) Off/On
    Benq 1.17 x 0108 (0000)

    2. Sun Rays (all options greyed out)
    ADC Brightness
    ADC Contrast
    ADC Offset RGB (64 64 64)
    ADC Gain RGM (128 128 128)
    Fac Brightness
    Fac Contrast

    3. Color Palette
    YPbPr O = 125,90,128 G = 50,55,50 <>
    6500K (RGB =135,110,110) <>
    PC 9300K (RGB = 125, 130,128) <> (greyed out)
    Video 9300K (RGB = 125,130,128) <>
    11500K (RGB =110,110,135) <>
    0x0/0 Mode = 0 Hper=2966 Vline=1126
    [1920x1080/60 Mode = 0 Hper=2966 Vline=1126]

    PbPr Submenu
    PBPr R Offset [125]
    PbPr G Offset [90]
    PbPr B Offset [128]
    PbPr R Gain [50]
    PbPr G Gain [55]
    PbPr B Gain [50]

    6500/11500K Submenu
    6500 R (135)
    6500 G (110)
    6500 B (110)
    11500 R (110)
    11500 G (110)
    11500 B (135)

    9300K Submenu
    PC 9300 R (135) (greyed out)
    PC 9300 G (128) (greyed out)
    PC 9300 B (150) (greyed out)
    Video 9300 R (125)
    Video 9300 G (130)
    Video 9300 B (128)

    4. Misc
    Test-Pattern 2 Off Gray ColorBar Board Point
    SpokeLit <>
    Curtain Red <>
    Curtain Green <>
    Curtain Blue <>
    Curtain Black <>

    [Curtain Menus all seem to display a screen of the corresponding color when selected. SpokeLit displays white screen.]

    5. Alphabet Soup
    Gamma Index
    ([Video11000K]/PC6500K/PC1100K/Photo(G2)/G2.2/G2.5/Linear/Video6500K)
    Filter
    ([VID_320T_4.PWF]/ VID_320T_5.PWF/
    EVP_320T_1.PWF/ EVP_320T_2.PWF/ EVP_320T_4.PWF/ EVP_320T_4.PWF/ EVP_320T_5.PWF/
    RGB_320T_1.PWF/ RGB_320T_2.PWF/ RGB_320T_4.PWF/ RGB_320T_4.PWF/ RGB_320T_5.PWF/
    VID_320T_1.PWF/ VID_320T_2.PWF/ VID_320T_3.PWF/ VID_320T_4.PWF/ VID_320T_5.PWF
    Lamp Hour (43)
    Usage Hour (66)
    Fac Lamp Hours (54) (greyed out)
    Data Reset (Press Right to select)

    6. Puzzle Pieces
    Test-Pattern 1 <>
    (Shades of grey/RGBW color bars/Black&WhiteCheckerboard/ThinWhiteBoxes)
    PW Gamma
    ([Linear]/YPbPr/.7/.8/.9/G Reduce/0702/0703/0704)
    Interpolation
    (1-Field/2F-2L/[2F-3L]/StaticMesh)
    Scaling
    ([Fill 16:9]/Fill All/Letterbox Subtitles to 16:9/Normal/Wide/Zoom/Anamorphic/VideoGame Zoom/Fill Aspect Ratio/Fill 16:9/Fill Nonlinear Letterbox/Letterbox to 4:3/Letterbox Subtitles to 4:3/Anamorphic to 4:3/4:3 to 16:9/Letterbox to 16:9/One to One)
    Gray Value <> [128]
    Blue Value <> [128]

    7. Fan
    T1-DMD [38.0] F1-Lamp (2300) Tach =213
    T2-Lamp [79.0) F2-Blst (2200) Tach =224
    T3-Blwr [39] F3-Blwr (4000) Tach =123
    Manual Fan Speed Off/On FanCal =128
    SOG Threshold [23]
    More Options <>

    More Options (Fac7 Submenu)
    Keystone Cal Select [Angle 0, Press <Auto>
    RS232 Debug Info 1 [On] (greyed out)
    RS232 Debug Info 2 [On] (greyed out)
    RS232 Debug Info 3 [On] (greyed out)
    RS232 Debug Info 4 PWM = 977 / -11477
    RS232 Debug Test String [On] (greyed out)
    Hard Reset <>
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well, did it ? :)
     
  7. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174

    Yes mate. Got it last night but had to spend a couple of hours making up a component to VGA cable to try it out on due to the fact that my previous cabling effort failed to work 'cause most cheapy VGA cables are not fully wired.
    So I had to trawl thru my box of tricks to find a suitable VGA adapter and bastardize it and, cause I worked late yesterday, By the time that finished. I only had a hour to start tweaking it.

    Impressions so far (after preliminary tweaking):-

    Pros:-

    Blacks are a lot blacker. I'm impressed how black the blacks are compared to my old Panny AE200. Even the wife noticed how black the blacks are (which is good cause that's the main reason I got rid of the AE200).
    The star scenes in Galaxy quest look lovely now.

    Contrast is equally good. I'm happy with the performance now. I think with some tweaking over the next week or so (and once I get my AVE disk back from my mate) I'll be well pleased.


    Cons:-

    Rainbows. I'd knew i'd see em and towards the end of my tweaking/viewing session I noticed em less and less. I'm sure my brain will learn just to ignore them.

    Vertical Offset: What's that all about then eh? I have to have my PJ on the floor to get it to fit the screen. At some point i'll mount it on a shelve on the back wall (upside down with picture flip) and I'll dare say the longish throw lense will help me out in that regards.

    Noise: This thing is a bit more noisy then my AE200 on economy mode. Not too bad. I'll probably build some kind of hush box for it.

    There you go. Still early days though. :)
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The 6200 was my first PJ, so I had nothing to compare it against. I got mine because it got a good review on (an American) forum site that I found. I was quite pleasantly surprised how quiet the thing is. I rarely use economy mode, because I'm not convinced that it improves the lamp life by much at all. When I first switched it on, I was watching a movie thinking how good it was, and then I thought "Where's this rainbow effect that everybody talks about ?", and I immediately saw it !

    I think the 6100/6200's are primarily sold as pj's for company presentations, to be sat on a standard meeting table with an image about 3 feet above the table, hence the high throw.

    P.S. Thanks for all the tweaking info - I'll have to have a go now !
     
  9. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    I would STRONGLY recommend caution when using the service menu. Especially HERE IS THE IMPORTANT BIT do not press down on the remote keypad when the top menu option is ADC cause you can seriously muck up your display and there's no way back. :oops: :suicide:

    My BenQ is well and truly f**ked. I hope BenQ can send me a suitable replacement as part of it's warrently process. I of cause will plead complete ignorance :blush:

    I hate doing this but i've little choice. :rolleyes:
     
  10. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    I got it sorted.

    On page 7 of the service menu there is an tab for more options. The hard reset.

    It will get you back to the default factory settings but you'll lose the bulb life information so it's you need to take a note of it prio to the reset.

    Mine was brand new so I guess it wont make a lot of difference.
     
  11. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Phew ! Easily done, though ! I accidentally switched my DVD player to a progressive scan setting that the pj wouldn't display, and it took me ages to find out that you could step through the settings by pressing a button on the remote ! Still, I have an excuse - I'm a service engineer (although not on AV products these days), and it's well known that engineers never read manuals :laugh:
     
  12. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    I'm an Engineer too hence my total obsession with fewtering with stuff. At least it's sorted :thumbsup:
     
  13. merifon

    merifon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Calderara di Reno, Italy
    Ratings:
    +16
    Anyone knows the difference between various "interpoler" settings in PB6100 service menu?
    Is 2F-2L more PAL compliant than 2F-3L?
    Has someone tried differents settings?
    Maybe too many questions, anyway thanks in advance... :hiya:

    saluti M
     
  14. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    Good question. I wish I knew.
     
  15. merifon

    merifon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Calderara di Reno, Italy
    Ratings:
    +16
    I tried having answers from Benq support (italian and worldwide), they simply ignore me. Maybe speaking about service menu is forbidden... :D
    So i changed the settings, the only thing i seen was a one second blank signal when selecting or go away from 1F-1L, with all others selections nothing seems to happens.
    With quite static images i didn't see differences. I'll try asap with more moving images, like pannings and so on.
    My set-up is a interlaced Panasonic s35 via component connection...
     
  16. merifon

    merifon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Calderara di Reno, Italy
    Ratings:
    +16
    I did some tests with movies, not freezed frames...
    The "1 field" setting of "interpolation" voice, simply doesn't de-interlace the incoming signal as all others setting do.
    The result is much, much better. Not only with the dvd movies but even with the extras. :thumbsup:
    The images are more detailed and the panning are not confused as before.
    It seems to watch another projector.
    I did infinite number of mode switching on "Hero", "The return of the King", "Priscilla" and related extras with the interlaced Panasonic s35. At the moment I can't try a progressive player so I can't say if the 6100 has different defaults with that signal.
    The only drawback is a very little flickering notable on the sub-titles only or in horizontal thin lines of my homebrew "TestDVD". I think flickering is reduced as side-effect of the down scaling process.
    Probably the de-interlacer of Benq 6100 it's not a masterpiece and a good progressive player does this job better but I could put this question:
    Is de-interlacing a useless process? Specially when the images have "telecinema" origin and the destination display has not the right number of horizontal lines.
    What do You think about?
     
  17. cla68

    cla68
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, this is and old thread and my BenQ PB6200 is an old projector...
    In any case I am still working around the calibration of this pj.
    I use it in Ecomode.
    I am following your suggestion; so I have changed the DLP Brightness (+29 instead of +32) and mainly Contrast (+19 instead of +32) inside the service menu in order to avoid to set each time the "white peak" at 0 when the machine has powered on.
    Reading the service manual, I note that you do not have to change DLP Brightess and Contrast, in particular Brightess (at that note is red and underlined).
    Did you try to change Fac Brightness and Fac Contrast (Fac = Factory) instead of DLP ones?

    Thanks, Cla68
     
  18. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +174
    I'm sorry mate but I can't help you. The BenQ 6100 was about 3 pj's ago. Good luck mate.

     
  19. cla68

    cla68
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks in any case.

    Cla68 :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...