1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The inevitable indecision....

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tommytannock, May 11, 2005.

1. tommytannock

tommytannock

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, finally decided to take the plunge and invest in a projector.

Tested an Infocus 4805 today on an 8ft screen and was seriously wowed but this was obviously all perfectly calibrated on a component lead with a good DVD player. Now I have to decide whether to simply buy this one (or maybe the Optoma H30a?) but then have no more money to spend on screen, cables or new player OR buy a cheaper Benq like the 5120 or 6200 and be able to buy a better screen and even a new DVD player as mine is very cheap.

So I need to be swayed into either buying the cheaper Benq and accessories or probably the Infocus and just get the rest later on. I am a student so budget considerations are important but neither do I want to buy something a little cheaper and regret the decision.

How much difference does a professional screen make as compared to a DIY or even a white wall?

And as a total PJ newcomer will the Infocus really be noticeably better then the Benq. I definitely do not suffer from any eye-strain on the DLP though I did notice slight rainbow effects when there was fast black and white contrasting images but nothing major.

I would appreciate any input from owners and also the screen situation clarified.

I just need to be pushed to either decision as I really, really want to get it soon!!

Thanks a lot...

2. Zack Attack

Zack Attack

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
  3. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    tommytannock

I'm biased - so first off a plug for the H30A :)