Quantcast

The 436 Has Arrived - My Day In Pictures...

Serkie

Well I was home today to receive delivery of my new toy, a Pioneer 436XDE Screen, Speakers, Media Receiver & Stand.

The plan today was to get the RS-100 fixed wall mount up and the plasma hanging and ready to run in.

The wall mount went up pretty easily and I made sure I used every fixing point possible using heavy duty fixings. My wife and I proceeded to hang off the mount to make sure it wasn’t moving and once we had confidence in the fixings and my DIY skills mounted the plasma.

As you can see the system and power cable are not hidden yet but that’s a job for another weekend. They will in turn be routed outside and to my forthcoming media rack/stand somewhere else in the room.

OK onto screen performance and I’m pleased to say first impressions are positive. Admittedly I’m no plasma expert however after searching and reading this forum for a few weeks hope I’ve grasped the basics. I’ve turned the brightness and contrast right down but the screen is still producing some impressive results.

Source 1: Sky+ Box – Lovely crisp picture, IXOS Scart cable used and RGB mode selected. Menu text is pin sharp and colour bleed is minimal.

Source 2: Cambridge Audio DVD 300 (Soon to be replaced with Oppo Digital HDMI Unit).

Source 3: Compaq Presario R3000 Laptop – I’ve acquired some stunning HDTV stuff i.e. The Matrix, Shark Tale, Ray & 2nd Series of Lost (2 episodes so far) and have hooked these up to the Screen via the PC socket. First impressions are good and using Theater Tek the results are simply stunning.

On a general note the screen seems to be producing good solid blacks, decent colours and crisp images. I’ve think I noticed a little judder whilst watching a action sequence of a film on Sky earlier although I’m going to try out a few things first with the settings before getting down about it.