1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The 32PF9830 Thread

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Rolighed, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. Rolighed

    Rolighed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I placed a back order for the 32PF9830 back in may, so you can imagine my joy when I got a call from D&C today telling me that they will ship my tv tomorrow. :thumbsup:

    Hopefully UPS can have it delivered by tuesday/wednesday (I'm living in DK) and then I'll give you all my first impressions as soon as possible.

    Cheers
    Rolighed
     
  2. stotten

    stotten
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK - I got my 9830 and have it partially set up. So far I only have it connected to my Sony STB (via scart), and I also connected it up via the standard ariel socket.
    Haven't connected up any HD plugs yet, as I only have an HDMI amp at home, but I do have a laptop with DVI out that I'll connect to the TV tonight to check out the quality. I'll also connect my PS2.

    First impressions:
    - make sure you have 2 people to help you get it set up - this TV is pretty bulky.
    - just turned the TV on for 5 minutes after getting it set up, and I'm no LCD expert (this TV is replacing a 12" CRT :D ) but quality via the STB seems excellent. :thumbsup:

    In the meantime, if anyone has any questions they want answered, post them up and I'll do my best to answer them tonight.

    - Steve
     
  3. moveq

    moveq
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    How about testing the panel for ghosting with your laptop?

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=240730
     
  4. Bluestraw

    Bluestraw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Steve,

    I would really be interested if you get 1:1 pixel mapping when you connect your PC via DVI. Can you get the advertised 1366 x 768 resolution, with full picture displayed etc! If not, please could you try the same via VGA connection?

    One suggestion - how about creating a brand new thread for discussions of the TV in operation (a bit like the recent one for V series Sony). You could always take after the famous 9986 thread and name it 'The Philips 9830 appreciation thread' :)
     
  5. MartinPerry

    MartinPerry
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Steve,
    Can you confirm all dimensions, particularly the motorised stand width and depth
     
  6. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    Look here for the manual
     
  7. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527

    According to the manual, it is only 1024x768 through the DVI when connected to a PC :(

    Edit,

    Although reading it again this may only be when you use a VGA to DVI adapter:confused:
     
  8. Bluestraw

    Bluestraw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    I saw that too, and I couldn't find any mention at all of the 1:1 resolution. Given that it's still on the spec sheet, I'm hoping it's just a miss in the manual....
     
  9. Rolighed

    Rolighed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The specs on the site itself goes:

    Computer formats : 640 x 480, 60HZ, 800 x 600, 60HZ, 1024 x 768, 60HZ, 1366 x 768, 60Hz
     
  10. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    Yes, but not according to the manual.....................

    And isn't this the some company that was marketing this tv as having that motion flicker technology stuff originally!!
     
  11. stotten

    stotten
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK, I've played around with it for a bit now, and the quality through the digital STB is excellent. I occasionally notice some blockiness on BBC1, but I'm confident that this is the signal (since in general the quality is perfect).
    Haven't managed to get my PC plugged in yet, but I did try to connect up my digital camera (a Canon Ixus 700).
    Unfortunately, when I connected through USB, the TV froze on me and needed to be switched off and on again!! I then tried again, and the TV didn't freeze, but didn't recognise my camera either. Later today I'll check to see if Philips have released any software updates.
    I next just took the SD card out and put it into the TV, and it worked fine - excellent quality browsing the photos.

    Regarding dimensions (in cm), these are:
    Height (including stand): 68
    Width: 100
    Depth of TV: 10
    Depth of stand: 24

    Next steps are to fire up the PS2, and to get my laptop connected...

    Apart from the USB incident, I have to say that so far I'm very impressed with this television.

    In the meantime, I've attached a couple of photos. These show:
    - Sony STB
    - TV
    - Roku Soundbridge
    - Panny SAXR70 receiver and PS2
    - Mission NXT speakers on wall
     

    Attached Files:

    • TV.jpg
      TV.jpg
      Size:
      72.1 KB
      Views:
      335
  12. MartinPerry

    MartinPerry
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info, keep it up I'm on the verge of ordering, can you add width of stand is it the same as television 100 or less
     
  13. kev00

    kev00
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    377
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    so what is the difference between this model and the 32pf9986 that I have as stotten's picture looks identical to my 9986 (apart from the stand)

    Kev
     
  14. stotten

    stotten
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The stand is 70cm long.

    - Steve
     
  15. stotten

    stotten
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Kev,

    Apart from a couple of dubious extras (USB/memory card support), I believe that for SD pictures the models are pretty much identical. However, the 9830 is better at HD, as it has an enhanced version of Pixel Plus 2 that doesn't downsample.
     
  16. stotten

    stotten
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Following up on the USB incident from earlier, I'm no longer sure that the TV did freeze up. From further playing around, it seems that the remote control is quite fussy - you have to aim it at a very particular area of the TV - so it could be that I wasn't pointing it "correctly".
     
  17. Bluestraw

    Bluestraw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi Steve,

    Any chance to test the PC functionality yet? Sorry to bombard you, butt this is the part (1:1 pixel mapping) that's really of great interest!!!

    Also, could you test something regarding the automatic widescreen switching when using your STB? Is there a mode which lets the TV show proper 4:3 (i.e. with black bars at left and right) or proper 16:9 (fullscreen), controlled by the STB (i.e. depending on which channel you're watching? I think the problem on the 9986 was that the only 'auto' mode would stretch a 4:3 picture, although 16:9 was showed correctly.

    Hope you're enjoying your new toy!!!
     
  18. stotten

    stotten
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK - I plugged the laptop in (couldn't find my dvi cable though, so used the provided vga-dvi converter), and the TV seemed to display 1024*768 just fine - not sure how to judge 1:1 pixel mapping, but the display wasn't distorted and the entire screen was filled.
    I would say though that once the screen is set up on the stand, it's a major pain to plug cables in.

    Regarding the mode switching, I don't believe that there's anything that allows channel specific modes. As you say, the TV decides what's appropriate based on the picture and auto-switches.
     
  19. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    So the picture is perfectly watchable with an RGB feed from a Set Top Box? Also will you be watching any HD content on this TV, I'd be interested to know you thoughts on that. Cheers ;)
     
  20. davel

    davel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anybody in the UK got their 9830 yet?

    I ordered mine from John Lewis about 3 weeks ago and haven't been given an expected delivery date yet.
     
  21. stotten

    stotten
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Absolutely - picture from an STB is just fine.

    I do hope to use the TV to watch HD content - I held off getting a TV to wait for this model so that I have a good HD TV - but obviously the lack of HD sources is a bit of an issue at the moment. I'll definitely take a good look at the Sky package when it comes out.
    I also hear Samsung intend to release dual BlueRay/HD-DVD players later this year, but as with most of the cool stuff, it'll probably be a while before it makes it here to the UK...
     
  22. Barrovian

    Barrovian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Second star to the right and straight on 'till mor
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hope you don't mind me asking, but how much are JL asking for the set?
     
  23. Rob1698

    Rob1698
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem with the 9986 is that it cannot autoswitch between 16:9 and 4:3.
    It can only switch between 16:9 and "stretched" mode where it fills the screen with distorted content from a 4:3 signal.

    This was a disappointment (at least to me), because earlier Philips TVs did this just fine.
    Philips says "it is the way this TV is designed". Sure, but that design is bad.
    It looks like it has not improved in the 9830.

    I have skimmed through the 9830 manual and it looks like some of the gripes have been solved. Like the cumbersome way to select an external input and the lacking capabilities of the remote (no way to control other-manufacturer equipment).
     
  24. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +116
    If the 1024*768 image covers the whole screen (i.e. no black side bands) then it is not 1:1 pixel mapping, and some scaling is involved as this is a 4:3 ratio resolution.

    Can your laptop feed 1366x768 (Whole screen), or 1280x720 (Black bands all round)?

    My TV scales PC input to fit the screen, and autosenses and displays the VGA input resolution. Have you looked through the menu options, can you turn off DVI scaling?
     
  25. Bluestraw

    Bluestraw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Rolighead,

    Have you received your new TV yet? If so, how's it looking?!
     
  26. Rolighed

    Rolighed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aargh! Have a look in the "Damaged goods" thread and you'll see that I "almost" received my TV! Now I don't know how long before I'll have my 9830 TV! :thumbsdow

    Cheers
    Rolighed
     
  27. Bluestraw

    Bluestraw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Oh no!! Sorry to hear that. Good luck with getting your refund - legally you are 100% entitled to a full refund, including shipping costs. Hope you eventually manage to buy one, and even same some money in the process!!
     
  28. Rolighed

    Rolighed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am hopefully 100% covered as I paid through 2 VISA transactions, so I should be able to just cancel those transaction if I'm going to have problems getting my full refund.
    After getting my refund, I think I might be shopping for the 37" model instead - depends on daily prices and which shops have then available.

    Cheers
    Rolighed
     
  29. Bluestraw

    Bluestraw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Has anyone else got one of these sets yet? I'm dying to hear how it shapes up compared with the 9986!! From what I see, a lot of the online stores have them in stock now... Anyone still waiting for their order? Anyone seen one in the high street yet?
     
  30. alanlar

    alanlar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Scotland - Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes I am surprised there has only really been one fairly brief report back so far. Certainly most of the online stores seem to reporting them in stock at varying prices and with so many having preordered there must be quite a few around. Deafening silence so far!
    Alan
     

Share This Page

Loading...