The 32PF9830 Thread

Rolighed

Standard Member
Reaction score
I placed a back order for the 32PF9830 back in may, so you can imagine my joy when I got a call from D&C today telling me that they will ship my tv tomorrow. :thumbsup:

Hopefully UPS can have it delivered by tuesday/wednesday (I'm living in DK) and then I'll give you all my first impressions as soon as possible.

Cheers
Rolighed

OK - I got my 9830 and have it partially set up. So far I only have it connected to my Sony STB (via scart), and I also connected it up via the standard ariel socket.
Haven't connected up any HD plugs yet, as I only have an HDMI amp at home, but I do have a laptop with DVI out that I'll connect to the TV tonight to check out the quality. I'll also connect my PS2.

First impressions:
- make sure you have 2 people to help you get it set up - this TV is pretty bulky.
- just turned the TV on for 5 minutes after getting it set up, and I'm no LCD expert (this TV is replacing a 12" CRT :D ) but quality via the STB seems excellent. :thumbsup:

In the meantime, if anyone has any questions they want answered, post them up and I'll do my best to answer them tonight.

- Steve

Steve,

I would really be interested if you get 1:1 pixel mapping when you connect your PC via DVI. Can you get the advertised 1366 x 768 resolution, with full picture displayed etc! If not, please could you try the same via VGA connection?

One suggestion - how about creating a brand new thread for discussions of the TV in operation (a bit like the recent one for V series Sony). You could always take after the famous 9986 thread and name it 'The Philips 9830 appreciation thread' :)

stotten said:
OK - I got my 9830 and have it partially set up. So far I only have it connected to my Sony STB (via scart), and I also connected it up via the standard ariel socket.