That flickering overscan line at the top?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Bob Todd, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    does anyone else get this dotdash line that flickers at the top of their recordings?

    is there anyway not to record it as it is bloody annoying
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,307
    A wee bit more info would be useful :lesson:
    Make/model of TV and recorder (DVDR?)
    It's more than likely your TV is slightly under-scanning....i.e. lack of height.
     
  3. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yep - it's the teletext info. Usually appears on monitors but not so often on the CRT TV. As JayCee implies you need to adjust picture height in favour of a slight overscan.
     
  4. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    well it appears on my Sharp LCDTV and my crappy asda 14" portable.

    the recorder is the tosh32

    I will check but the source on the HD doesnt do this just the disks created
     
  5. Artie Fufkin

    Artie Fufkin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +181
    This happens quite a lot when I watch Freeview, both on my crt and on my rear pro. But it's not consistent, so I don't see how I can cure it. It's annoying, but I've kinda learned to live with it now.

    I don't know if this helps you though - is it only on recorded material you get the problem?
     
  6. Artie Fufkin

    Artie Fufkin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +181
    Sorry, just seen you only get this on discs. Strange one that.
     
  7. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    the only way I have been able to remove it is to reencode in mainconcept and stretch the pic up a couple of lines

    surely these DVD recorders have a feature to remove the overscan crap before they burn
     

Share This Page

Loading...