1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thanks for help - just finished setting up my first projector!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Snoopstah, Jan 8, 2005.

  1. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys,

    Just like to say thanks for all the help you've given me - I haven't posted much, but the information and discussions on here have been invaluable in both choosing and setting up my first projector.

    Obviously, after upgrading from a 15 year old Sony TV (albeit a top-of-the-range one), anything was going to be better, but I can honestly say that it's unbelievably fantastic! I'm speechless every time I watch things on it, even if they're from a low-quality source!

    For reference, I'm using a Panasonic AE700 with a home-made 66 inch screen. Haven't seen any VB, haven't looked! I'm sure the experts could do all sorts to set it up better (I haven't even touched the picture settings on it yet), but to me, it looks pretty damn amazing.

    Couple of pics:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thanks again!
     
  2. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    just thought I'd stick the same screenshot taken off of my Infocus 4805 for a bit of fun !
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Good pausing skills!

    Your image looks 'warmer' than mine - probably my Xbox's fault, I've heard that they tend to output everything with a green tinge...
     
  4. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    still, not bad at all for an Xbox connected probably via a basic composite connection is it? And not a hint of VB that I can see.
    It would seem the Panny AE700 has received a little too much bad press of late and it's about time someone addressed the balance.
    Welcome to the projector community my friend !
     
  5. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    RGB Scart. I've not seen any VB at all, but equally, I'm not keen to go looking for it on purpose! If I don't notice it during normal viewing, it might as well not exist, as far as I'm concerned :)

    I actually got it as it was one of very few PJs that would do the screen size I required from the throw distance I had to have, but I never expected it to be as good as it is - especially with the bad press it seems to get!

    Think I'll have to finally cave and get a proper DVD player with component output, though :)
     
  6. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    Snoop are you going to use the ae700 as your main TV?If you don't want to spend loads on a dvd player have a look at the pioneer 575.Excellent picture using Progress scan and component.
    Anyway screen looks great and so much better than the Infocus 4805. :laugh:
     
  7. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    Also how big is your screen?
     
  8. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looks like a good unit, does SACD and DVD-A too.

    Will be using the AE700 as my main TV. Still got my old TV behind the screen (which lifts right down), but having watched TV on the PJ in the daytime today and with the 2x100W ceiling lights on, it does a fine job. Obviously you lose a lot of contrast, but for casual watching it's fine, even on low-lamp mode.

    Cheers :)
     
  9. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    So how bigs your screen?
     
  10. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    65 inch, which helps with the brightness in daytime. Viewing distance is only just over 2 metres (small living room), so despite sounding like a small screen, it still looks huge :)
     
  11. MikeRJ

    MikeRJ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +1
    They do, without a doubt. A friend of mine mentioned he was going to stop using his Xbox for DVDs after comparing it back to back with a cheapo DVD player because of the green tint. I thought he was probably imagining it, so checked mine (never used if for DVD playback before) and sure enough it's there.
     
  12. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    Hunts1uk, on what are you basing your opinion of the screenshot on the ae700 being so much better than the 4805? From my observation, the ae700 lacks the contrast and the colour rendition of the 4805 ( at least in these two images). As Snoopstah says, it's probably due to the Xbox feed, but the only advantage the AE700 has over the 4805 is in it's resolution which is not an issue in these images. The 4805 has better contrast and because of the Xbox, has better colours in these images...........Not that I am biased of course !!
    ( No offence Snoopstah !)
     
  13. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    I was joking m8,calm down it's only a projector. :thumbsup:
     
  14. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    :boring: :boring: :boring: :boring: :rtfm:
     
  15. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not at all! I thought it was a bit controversial when he said it! :)

    For reference, the 4805 was the only other projector in my price range that would do the required image size given the throw distance. The reasons I chose the AE700 above it were (in no particular order):

    1. DLP rainbows - don't affect me, but I was worried that visitors might feel ill.
    2. Brightness - as I knew I wanted this as my main TV, the 1000 lumens of the Panny was better than the 750 lumens of the Infocus.
    3. Cost - while they cost around the same here, I fundamentally object to Infocus's pricing scheme on this PJ - it retails for around 1200 quid over here, but can be bought for $1299 in the US. Smacks a bit of 'rip-off britain' to me.
    4. Resolution - having seen HDTV in the states, even though there is currently no OTA programming for it, I really wanted something that could handle it eventually.

    A 3-chip DLP would have been a no-brainer, if I could have afforded it!
     
  16. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    I know, I know... Sorry guys, didn't mean to sound so 'anal' !!!!
    I really like the AE700, just couldn't afford one at the time !
    :oops: :offtopic:
     
  17. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Have to say that your set up looks superb.

    Well done.

    Welcome to the FP club. That screen set up is superb and some what ingenious. Congratulations. All the best and simply enjoy after your hard efforts.

    One last thing, do buy a dedicted DVD deck with progressive scan is this will improve the image further. As an EX Panasonic owner I can validate this. Hope this helps.

    Captain Benefit.
     
  18. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks! Will definitely be on the lookout for a good DVD player at a nice price :)
     
  19. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Keep an eye on the hardware sales forum here. Bargain central sometimes.

    Cheers,

    Cap.
     
  20. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    Most people with PJ's go down the HTPC route to watch DVDs. Have you a PC at home?
     
  21. Snoopstah

    Snoopstah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    A few ;)

    Plan on doing that, but for the setup I'd like for a dedicated HTPC I'm looking at around 500 quid, so a cheap but decent DVD player would be a nice interim step while I save up a bit!

    [​IMG]
     
  22. martian1

    martian1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +325
    I like both screenshots either would do me..no need to fuss :rolleyes: both lucky guys :smashin:
     
  23. stu mcc

    stu mcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    martian

    yep, 'nuff said mate
     
  24. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    i dont think you can compare projectors based on digi camera pics at all. The camera and decor has much more of an effect than the quality of the projector, on the output picture, and hence decision!

    Just for interest, here is a post I just made with a similar picture from Shrek 2.







    Well I have had a go taking pictures, unfortunately now that I have put them on my pc i can see that the shutter speed was far too slow, i will have to try freeze frame next time as my current camera doesnt support a faster shutter speed. Also my camera is awful in the dark so I might need to get closer or turn up the brightness next time i take pictures (ill try that soon). Anyway ill attach them for you to have a look at.

    http://www.photobox.co.uk/album/1127264 (the awful pixellation is from the camera in dark) (the Shrek 2 picture comes from DVDx2 on the xbox)

    By the way, these are the settings I made with a DVE disk (I think it is NTSC if that makes any difference). Started from Normal settings and then:
    +4 Contrast
    -8 Brightness
    -2 Colour
    0 Tint
    +3 Sharpness
    Low Lamp mode

    As for flicker adjustment, I was wrong. I settled on the final values of Blue 26, Red 27, Green 26 and have no noticable VB what so ever. That is in the desk setup mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...