1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TH42PV500 Service menu

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Jazz Monkey Jr, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,817
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Here is how to get in to the service menu, to find out how many hours you have had - mines on 36. Posted by David Sheeky
    It is the same for all Vireas I think.

     
  2. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    whopping 231 hours here, not bad in couple of weeks, will have to tone my viewing down me thinks :)

    Dino
     
  3. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,817
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    you getting it ISF'd?
     
  4. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    Piers already did mine, when he come for a look when I first got it :)

    I am sure he said it wouldn't change much, looks the same to me anyway :)

    Still cant make up my mind what to do about the component inputs, if to get an amp or the switcher box off Piers, dmres10 gives beter results than the xbox when playing dvds via component, but xbmx skins look so much nicer at 720p, so still deciding seems daft to spend 60 quid to just get skins looking a bit nicer with the xbox.

    Dino
     
  5. FlyingBig

    FlyingBig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisburn
    Ratings:
    +1
    I used the hidef component kit to connect my xbox to my 37pv500 and i set it to 720p and i get faint white vertical bars running down the screen all the way across and its is quite noicable to say the least. Very strange when you consider that scart is fine. So have i got something setup wrong? Really disappointed atm with the xbox so any help appreciated.
     
  6. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,817
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Did you get the full ISF, noticable difference?
     
  7. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    Try updating the bios on your chip? thats if its a modded box.

    Mine would not work at all and was just a mass of jagy lines, I then updated the bios on the chip to the latest one and all is fine.

    Also I know some people have mentioned in the past that the cheap copy component leads cause problems, is it an official Microsoft one?

    Dino
     
  8. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    ISF from what I can see sets up the screen to the correct colour levels, sharpness and brightness and contrast, mine was miles to low and scenes were too dark, and you couldnt make out detail in dark scenes, its certainly brighter now than I usually have a but I have now settled in with it and happy to know its performing as it should be.

    All I can say is if your there and you get Piers to do it, watch the scene with the footage from the space shuttle looking back to earth, jaw dropping!!!!! and its hard to imagine what proper HD will look like if SD looks like that.

    Same with a show I saw on CH4 or 5 about the Pyramids the other week, shot with super HQ cameras, jaw was on the floor through out the program as I could not believe the quality of it, via scart from sky+, I will be signing up for sky HD for sure, no doubt about it.
     
  9. FlyingBig

    FlyingBig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisburn
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes it is an official microsoft hidef kit bought from Liksang. Seems very odd to me and concerns me somewhat, what if hdmi shows up the same? Is updating the bois of the xbox dangerous adn how do i do it?

    P.S. i had used component via my optoma projector with no issues at all, infact it was very impressive
     
  10. FlyingBig

    FlyingBig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisburn
    Ratings:
    +1
    Would an ISF fix the issue of shading in dark scenes? I think the term is colour banding and its not a smooth transition from dark to light but instead it shows in stages and looks abit odd.
     
  11. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +199

    This can be reduced in a number of ways.

    use of a good scart or component lead for dvd.

    making sure your sky box is set up correctly (16:9 wide mode and set to RGB)

    A day calibration with DVE or AVAI dvds.

    and if you have the money an isf calibration.

    I dont think you can totaly eradicate this problem though as it is some thing which does tend to affect a lot of plasmas due to the nature of the technology.
     
  12. foz

    foz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    my unmodded xbox on my old hitachi pma400e(i think thats what its called) had the exact same problem when conected with componant so its not an issue with the panasonic. svideo was fine though so i dont know what causes it-mabey an issue with uk xbox?
     
  13. lasitha

    lasitha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    231 hours in 14 days = 16.5 hours a day!.
     
  14. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,817
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    On what ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...