1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Th37pw7bx - Th37pw7b Whats The Difference If Any?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by apgibbo, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. apgibbo

    apgibbo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Folks, had my plasma for about 6 weeks now have used DVE - pal on my HTPC and I am over the moon.

    When I bought it it was advertised as a PW7B but I received a PW7BX.

    Is there any differen?

    The manual leads me to believe it will accept 720p HDTV signals (accept and display rather than being HDTV compliant) Is this so?

    Regards,

    Adrian
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    i think x means no speakers (or something like that) either way it's the norm and mine was the same. It is not HDTV compliant.
     
  3. apgibbo

    apgibbo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for clearing things up Mep :thumbsup:
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    no worries...enjoy!
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    IT will accept 720p and 1080i at both 50 and 60Hz but only over analogue RGBHV/Component not DVi/HDMI
     
  6. apgibbo

    apgibbo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon - does that mean it's not HDTV but it won't baulk if you feed it an HDTV signal?.

    Also if I feed an HDTV signal through the vga port on my HTPC will it just downscale it and will I notice any differece in quality.

    I ask because windows ATI drivers let me output at 720p and 1080p - I tried them and they worked fine - even though I had no signal to put through it.

    Adrian

    P.S. it's all academc for now but I bet blue ray drives and HD dvds will be quite cheap (eventually) on the PC
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    it is not "HD ready" as per the EICTA guidlines but you can watch loads of res signals on it, 720p should look the best........
     
  8. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Go on, treat yourself, you know you wanna.
     

Share This Page

Loading...