TH-42PH9 Overall setup cost

saint_david

Novice Member
Im a noob yet to make a decision on a 42" Plasma and im looking to weigh up all the options. I've narrowed the choices down to either pioneer or panasonic and just recently my eyes been drawn to the TH-42PH9 panel from panasonic.

The plasmas ive previously looked at have been all in one setups with integrated digital tuners, speakers and connections but obviously the TH-42PH9 is just the panel alone. Im just after some idea how much it would cost to buy all the additional equipment so to give it the same capabilities as the all in one solutions. I know speakers would cost a fair bit but what else would I need? Including the cost of the panel, could it be done for under £2k?

Mep

you will need an amp unless you just plan using a pair of speakers connected to the screen itself, but really we would need to know what equipment you want to connect to your plasma to advise on input boards etc and therefore a budget.

saint_david

Novice Member
Just a basic setup to begin with, something i would be able to plug a dvd player, sky and possibly a htpc into. I wouldnt be after top of the range stuff, just decent kit that comes reccomended by you chaps :)

rhino2k

i would'nt worry about the tuner, surely you have sky or a freeview box? if not £30 for a freeview box should give you something like 40 channels :)

you could just about get a ph9, hdmi board, av amp and low end speakers for 2k :thumbsup:

would still be a nice setup :)

saint_david

Novice Member
Wouldnt be after surround sound to begin with to keep the cost down. Im basically trying to find out how much it would cost to get the TH-42PH9 plasma to do what, for example, the TH42px600 can do out of the box :thumbsup:

rhino2k

saint_david said: