1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

th-42pe30 help

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by sunderland, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    i tried switching over to digital this morning nothing. couldnt even get into the guide for it. so i set it back to shipping condition and started again. now after it has tuned the normal channels in, it comes up invalid dvb channel. also it wont switch over to dvd or sky like it use to and if i switch it of it starts to tune the channels in again. tried 4 times now do you think this plasma is nacked cheers.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Odd is this the analogue tuner as well or just the DVB tuner? have you tried using it with analogue tuner (manual DVB set-up)? not an issue i have seen before tho mate
     
  3. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    i cant get any dvb channels now but it will tune my analogue channels in everytime i turn tv back on
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    make sure the shipping condition option doesnt go of every time you turn off, and see if it will store analogue channels properly
     
  5. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    how can i do that please hornydragon it only gives you the option to start shipping condition i.e erase everthing
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    make sure that opton is not ticked (IE reverts to shipping condition at every turn off) Dont have a veira infront of me to check with
     
  7. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    could it be that it isnt tuning all the channels in i.e the dvb channels and thats why it is tuning itself in everytime i switch it of p.s it doesnt have a tick next to it just says access thanks for trying to help me
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    hmm not sure then mate.... (brave of you to run shipping condition on it) try removing RF lead and letting it find no channels then try manual search (put RF lead back infor this)
     
  9. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    will try also i was wondering why it wont switch over to sky or dvd now when it did it before any ideas on that m8 and why was it brave of me to use shipping mode or you not surposed to cheers
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    i would risk losing my settings....... not sure why it wont switch to sky etc (but all scart allocations will be default now)
     
  11. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    thats what i thought but ive got to switch over with the av button and i tried manually tuning m8 still no joy
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    not looking good mate...Sorry use sky for time being and call panny up on tuesday
     
  13. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    cheers m8 will do and wil let you no how got on
     
  14. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    hornydragon just to let you no m8 after 2 days of phoning panasonic and webelectricals panasonic are finally sending someone out as they dont no what is wrong with it.just hope they can fix it on site :lease:
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    i doubt it mate insist on a loan unit as you at least use with sky if they take it away 2 weeks minimum
     
  16. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    will wait for them to phone when they are coming out. and tell them then that i want a loan unit.if they say no theres nothing i can do though is there.
     
  17. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    hornydragon just to let you no m8 another 3 days gone bye and still no call what lovely people there are at panasonic i bet it wouldnt of taken this long if i was buying one. well looks like i will have to call them back up
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Baron MCann are a bunch of idiots mate. Staff are useless and organisation even worse..... Just keep hassling them and ideally arrange a loan unit (make sure you are there when they come out tho..... and if it cant be fixed on site i suggest you insist on the loan unit (will mean a longer wait tho)
     
  19. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    yes thats who they said would be coming out m8. panasonic wont give me the number for them ive got to keep phoning panasonic. well its looking grime then m8. will keep in touch and let you no how its going on.
     
  20. Vilaubas

    Vilaubas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Clarky?
     
  21. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    Vilaubas what do you mean clarky cheers
     
  22. Vilaubas

    Vilaubas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thought you were somebody I worked with from sunderland called clarky.....Hes into Hi FI and TV's aswell.
    No worries,
    Vilaubas.
     
  23. George a L

    George a L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +67
    When you put the sent into Shiping con, yiu automatically set it back to default, in the analogue tuning menu you have power on mode select av for this and that shall correct that problem, as for no dvb switch set off for 2 mins and then retune the dvb channels, when i say swith off i mean at the wall thats is the only way to reset the dvb tuner IC.

    Hope this helps

    George. :)
     
  24. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    i tried seting it to av no joy. and ive tried switching of again and no joy. thanks for the advice.will have to keep chasing panasonic up to get it fixed. 9 weeks is no good to have a plasma before it breaks.
     
  25. alscds

    alscds
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    have Baron MCann been out yet ? if not i,ll try to get you the number we have had a couple back for that reason. where did you get it from ? also note that panny dvb tuners are very sensitive the winter hill transmitter is having probs on itv transmissions its only panny's that have had a prob so far as far as im aware
     
  26. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    they have just called me today. they said they are coming out thursday. they said i would need a software update to fix it so they have to take it away.they wont give a lone tv as they say panasonic dont give them any to give out. he said its a 2 hour job but they are likely to have it till next monday maybe tuesday. sick as a parrot.p.s thanks alscds for trying to help.
     
  27. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    well they came for the plasma today i asked how long it would be he said if it just needs a software update about 7 to 10 days. i neally feel through the floor. hope its nothing serious as i might not get it back till next xmas. :lease: will let you no how i get on.
     
  28. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    should be fine mate.....
     
  29. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    well hornydragon got a call of barron macann today m8. they said the board had gone they tried to do the update and it corrupted the board. so they said they have had to order one and it takes about 5 to 10 days to come from panasonic. so another 3 weeks or so watching my little telly im sick as f :censored: k.
     
  30. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yeah...thats why i said get a loan set....................who did you buyit from again???
     

Share This Page

Loading...