1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TH-37PW7 versus 37PE30

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Northern Monkey, Oct 22, 2004.

1. Northern Monkey

Northern Monkey
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Help- I am a complete newbie to all of this. I had sort of decided that I was going to get the Panasonic 37PE30 (42" ruled out by missus as too big for lounge- although until I started lurking around here I didnt realise that there are actually sound reasons for not buying something to large viz a viz viewing distance). Anyway whilst looking for a price I came across this forum and having trawled through the threads there appears to have been much discussion on both of the above models. Having read this with interest and having been sort of educated I came round to the view that really do I need the plasma telly or will a display suffice specially as its a few quid cheaper.

What I really dont understand though is what extra bits I need to rig up the display (eg what on earth is a terminal board etc- presumably links the inputs to display but there seem to be 100s of permutations). I have an NTL cable box; a panasonic DVD with surround sound which we currently listen to the rubbish old telly through; a VCR hardly ever used and dispensable if it will cause a problem.

Any guidance in words of one syllable for a complete luddite would be greatly appreciated. (or should I just get the PE30 as its idiot proof).

And is charcoal better than silver?

Cheers

Northern

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    colour choice is up to ypu mate i would always buy a panel.... for a family suggest a Veira (PE30).......