Texecom Help

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by Munzz, Jul 14, 2019.

  1. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hi All,

    After some Texecom support following on from moving a PIR.

    We’re having the builder take out a wall next week and attached to this wall was a PIR. I removed the screw, removed the cover and triggered the tamper which of course I turned off at the panel by entering my code.

    I then accidentally dropped the sensor and the battery popped out. I put it back in, it started flashing but then stopped (which I thought was good!)

    I put the sensor on a new wall, put the cover back on and screwed it in.

    Now, when I do a walk test this sensor is not being triggered for some reason, however when I remove the cover it triggers the tamper so must be connected to the system somehow.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Just to add, I’ve also full set the system and tried to trigger this particular PIR and nothing. I triggered a different one and that worked as expected.

    Any fixes before I call the installer!?
     
  3. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Just to add, I’ve also full set the system and tried to trigger this particular PIR and nothing. I triggered a different one and that worked as expected.

    Any fixes before I call the installer!?
     
  4. Fabien

    Fabien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    If it’s not broken from the drop you might need to fire up the ricochet software (if you have it) to monitor the sensor (as it could be in commissioning mode due to the battery being out)

    There is an internal button (if I recall) to control this.

    Note also that wireless sensors will go to sleep after first trigger (to save battery life) so this will affect your walk test (unless you put it in the correct mode)

    Fabien
     
  5. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks Fabian, unfortunately no software access, my master code is as good as it gets!

    I have the connect app and the sensor appears valid and working in it too.

    I’ll have a hunt for this button you mention too.
     
  6. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Just to add, the sensor is listed as “secure” upon checking the status.
     
  7. Fabien

    Fabien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    I imagine ‘secure’ means it’s not in tamper. A couple of things to try ...

    1) The sleep time on the PIR (if not dual-tech) is around 3 mins. Set alarm without tripping this sensor, wait 3 mins, then trip sensor and see if it alarms

    2) Download the Texecom manual for commissioning PIRs and follow the instructions.

    Fabien
     
  8. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks Fabian; all the other sensors are in “secure” mode too which seems odd.

    I’m going to set the alarm as usual tomorrow and when home I’ll set the “duff” sensor off to see if a 10 hour break will do it any good!
     
  9. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Issue aside, what is the going rate for an installer to supply and fit a new PIR to my system?
     
  10. Fabien

    Fabien
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    Probably around £100.

    If you have the master code then why not do it all yourself. It’s easy to get hold of the software and you can then fix situations such as yours without having to call an engineer out

    Fabien
     
  11. Munzz

    Munzz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks Fabien, I have the master code but not the engineer code which I believe I need to set up a PIR.
     

Share This Page

Loading...