Question Temperature jump after startup

IceStation

Standard Member
Hi all,

I have a question and can't find an obvious answer. That said I am new to system build / management so could be missing a really basic thing. Grateful for any thoughts.

I have a pc that I bought from Overclockers in early 2011, OC did the build for me as I wouldn't have had a clue where to start. The PC was going great but recently I started to get inquisitive and wanted to learn how it works more and see if I could improve anything. The temps when idle were typically at low 40's, however after becoming inquisitive I made some changes!

A cable from the fan controller on the case had come loose and wasn't working, this is now connected again and fans spinning slower on start up, changing as needed. I also decided to move the HDD cages, down to a single cage and set back nearer to the PSU to let more air through. The bands on the BeQuiet cooler had also perished, BeQuiet sent me more (after nearly 5 years, great service I think).

When I boot up the temps are in the high 20's now, then after about 5 mins they go back up to low 40's. I've tried to find a reason for this but can't see any processes / services starting up or running. Is this normal? I guess low 40's are ok but they seem high compared to others here with similar builds.

Current spec:
Corsair 650D case
Intel i7 2600K (running at stock though 3.4GHz), 8Gb memory
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3P-B3 board
Radeon HD6950 GPU
Corsair TX750 PSU
Samsung 840 pro SSD and 1TB HDD
BeQuiet Dark Rock Advanced cooler
Windows 7

My next project, after reading Theydon Bois's post with interest is to change the 200mm top fan to 2x120mm (thinking of Akasa Apache Black) and now I have more space changing the front fan to a BitFenix spectre pro 200mm. Hopefully this will help quiet the fans a little and help with cooling further.