1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tell me your problem disks please

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by ANDY_DUTTON, Aug 28, 2002.

  1. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi,

    I am currently trying to find out what disks are causing problems out there so I can test out products with them to ensure that they work.

    Please let me know if you have any problem disks and what the problem was. Newer titles that we may not know about are of special interest.

    Many Thanks,
    Andy.
     
  2. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Yards R2 point blank refused on my Arcam DV27.
     
  3. -Spike-

    -Spike-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hi Andy,

    I have an Arcam DV88

    Recent discs-

    Lord of the Rings R1- layer change (chap 24) took ages then shortly afterwards stopped and returned to start.
    Have since replayed these scenes and the "problem" seems to have improved, could have been a dirty disc?

    Star Wars Phantom Menace R2-Sound dropouts at beginning of film as text is scrolling

    That's about it

    Regards
     
  4. Rambo John J

    Rambo John J
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanoi Hilton
    Ratings:
    +860
    Is that any problem disc, or discs that are just a problem with Arcam players?
     
  5. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi again,

    I am looking for any problem disks, not just ARCAM problems. Thanks for the feedback so far.

    Regards,
    Andy.
     
  6. Rambo John J

    Rambo John J
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanoi Hilton
    Ratings:
    +860
    BMG's R0 UK disc of The Cult - Pure Cult video Anthology won't load. Neither would the replacement.

    Once Upon A Time In America and The Name Of The Rose R0 discs (from www.play.com) won't load. Neither would 2 replacements of each.

    Warners R1 The Swarm won't play past the layer change

    Lions Gate Canadian R1 Dagon won't play past the layer change.

    Universal R1 Silent Running SE won't play the extras from the menu, have to be accessed directly with the remote

    Warners R1 Heaven and Earth SE won't play the extras from the menu, have to be accessed directly with the remote

    All on a 1st generation (3 year old?) Wharfedale DVD750 that never had a firmware update.
     
  7. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    Jeepers Creepers R1 won't play on a Pioneer 545.
     
  8. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    R1:JFK - pictures errors (blocking) when playing the second layer.

    ------------

    PS. On the assumption that you work for ARCAM and we're all helping you with your work..... any chance we can be entered into a draw to win an ARCAM deck??? :D :D :D

    Hey, its worth asking I figure. :rolleyes:

    Regards
     
  9. Grimley

    Grimley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried the Matrix (r1 or r2?) this disc is supposed to cause problems with some dvd players.
     
  10. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Howdy Andy_Arcam,
    Have a peek at the last few pages of the " Denon 2800 Artifact" thread, there's a list of problem discs by member MartinCo.
    In particular, Seven R2 SE .
     
  11. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    Exit wonds on Denon DVD 3000 wont recognise it as disk at all, but plays on Toshiba 200
    The Jackal and Daylight DTS on Toshiba 200, will not find the DTS track, but plays on Denon DVD 2800.
    Terminator 1 special edition is suposed to be a trouble disk, but i've not had problems with mine.
     
  12. regie

    regie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Andy,

    The only disk I've had a problem with since a firmware upgrade on my DV88 is Fawlty Towers Serires 1 R2 which suffers picture freezes and total piture break up and sound drop outs after the layer change.

    Mind you My DV88 is currently with you at the moment having an LT drive upgrade. I did not realise how much I would miss it, can't wait to get it back :D

    I'm stuck with just a PS2, which has far more compatability problems then the DV88, but it does play the F.T. disc.
     
  13. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Robocop Trilogy - Disk one does not play on some DVD players (Including Toshiba 100E...)
     
  14. Samantha

    Samantha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hiya

    Ive had trouble with Nightmare on Elm St reg 2 box set it only got to 5 mins. On all 4 of my players.
    Buffy season 1 disc 2 the 2nd episode reg 1 on the Samsung 511

    Samantha
     

Share This Page

Loading...