Telewest update 26/03/06

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by bboy-mass, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    Lets try again:
    :D

    I have just been advised by customer servcies in Birmingham, that an update will be made to the TVdrive sometime in the early morning on the 26/03/06:thumbsup:

    i advised her that this better improve the HDMI/Component issues, or Im going back to SKY.:hiya:

    I hope to see the following when I awake:

    1. Aspect correction on 4:3 and 16:9

    2. Option to stretch/scale screen to fit (as with scart)

    3. 5.1 option via optical (ask a bit much here).

    have you guys heared anything about tomorrows update?

    BTW, they have knocked a tenner of the bill for all my troubles:)

    Regards
    Mass
    Birmingham
     
  2. mojoicus

    mojoicus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I hope your right mate
    I want all the options you mention
    I got £20 off
    I got told by customer services you cant watch hd via component
    Since the engineer refused too connect up via anything other than scart had to do it myself
    Got hdmi working and component so basically customer services dont know there arse from there elbow
    And i advise anyone who has installers refusing to connect via hdmi ring up for something off your installation fee
     
  3. cooldawn

    cooldawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +74
    I'll reiterate. As long as I can watch 4:3 and 16:9 in perfect aspect ratio i.e. no stretching then I'm perfectly happy with that.
     
  4. greig

    greig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    So it works through component does it?
     
  5. kotlewm

    kotlewm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    I agree, they better not mess things up for those of us that prefer to watch undistorted aspect ratios.

    I got my TV Drive installed today. Component to my Dell W1900 TV works great. DVI to the TV has the black bar on the right hand side of the screen as mentioned by others. Interestingly, DVI to my Sony VPL-HS10 projector does not have this issue.
     
  6. stammie

    stammie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I read on another forum this update will fix the hdmi left shift only
     
  7. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    just spoke to support in birmingham, and the guy has no idea what im talking about?

    I asked if the update was still scheduled for tomorrow, and he said "Dun No Mate" if ya being told its ta-night, den its ta-night.

    Hate people who talk thick because there from Birmingham.:D

    I talk really posh:D

    Lets hope he forgot to read his shift handover.

    regards and good luck.:thumbsup:

    Mass
    Birmingham
     
  8. CoreyTaylor

    CoreyTaylor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok I got my TVDrive last night and so far love it except the bloody 4:3/16:9 fubar lol

    One question I have though is if ny of u r using a HDMI connection have you checked the manual for your tele?

    With my Hitachi 7200 Plasma it says in the manual that when viewing content through the HDMI connection in 720p or 1080i you will not be ale to adjust the picture.

    I know this to be true as when I had an upscaling DVD Player recently I found that i could switch around the picture (panaoramic,full,aucto etc) when in standard def through hdmi but when I switched to 720 and 1080 it got stuck in full which is crap tbh lol and now my tv drive is in full.

    If Telewest can update it tonight ill be well chuffed as i can't watc the music channels as their in little black boxes :(

    Bte what do you lot think of the Pride hd transmission?

    I was blown away, especially at the beginning when the cubs run up the concrete slab and the suns blistering out of the screen and the birds fly by, stunning!!!!:thumbsup:
     
  9. CoreyTaylor

    CoreyTaylor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just called Telewest in Brum and the dude said that the update tonight is for the time change lol

    I don't think the left hand knows what the right hand is doing over there lol :):hiya:
     
  10. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    They are great aren't they:)
    Best thing to do (this is what I did), is get put through to the broadband support team, and ask them.

    The guys in there are IT people, and understand all the jargon a lot more than some stupid bit on the help desk.
    :eek:

    Im upset now, so im off to play Sincity in HD again before my rental runs out.:D


    SKY users:

    Are you watching Sincity in HD:smashin: lol

    R.
    mass
     
  11. mickyiz29

    mickyiz29
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is an update tonight but it is nothing more than an update for the tv schedule with the clocks changing soon , the picture shift fix is known and due to be fixed in April . Do not expect the picture shift issue to be fixed on the 26th because it won't be . ;)
     
  12. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    Correct, no update was made last night.

    TELEWEST STOP BULLsh*tING US AND FIX THE PROBLEM.:devil:

    Im very upset, as they still dont have an idea of whats wrong.

    Im going to see a SKY HD box on demonstration today, and i will be looking for the same issues.

    Regards
    Mass
     
  13. Br41ns

    Br41ns
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +31

    Just got mine on Saturday too and went for Pride immediately, was well blown away with it, left me sitting with my mouth hanging open.:smashin:
     
  14. cooldawn

    cooldawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +74
    What type of programme is Pride? I'm impressed at how it's been singled out at as a great example of HD.
     
  15. psotfx

    psotfx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Calm down ;) The problem with the left shift via HDMI is annoying but it's hardly the end of the world. As for the way 4:3 content is displayed as others have noted (such as Stephen) it's behaving exactly as it should. There is no problem that TW need to fix. If you would like a new feature within the box to zoom a 4:3 image fine, ask away. But personally (and I suspect this goes for many peeps) I'd prefer they fix the bugs first (which means knowing my luck they'll include a useless for me feature to zoom 4:3 but not fix the left shift :D)

    As for DD 5.1 support ... well the manual suggests this is due in that mid-April update.
     
  16. Ecom

    Ecom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a problem with 4.3 when the original was recorded and output in 4.3. What really annoys me is when the original was recorded in 16.9 and then output at 4.3. You get the black bands both left and right, and a 25mm (1" for us oldies) top and bottom. So effectively you get a small picture on a large screen, it looks crap. Give us the option to stretch and zoom if possible.
     
  17. Tasslehoff

    Tasslehoff
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think its Telewest's issue. The HD issue of not 'stretching' the picture to fill the whole screen may be an aspect of HD that all TV's suffer for a while. I think the box outputs whatever it is given and because HD is in its infancy, it does not have the capablity to 'stretch' the picture.

    Personaly I would not want to strech the picture but I know some people would. Ive had TVdrive for a week now and combined with Teleport it has completly changed my TV viewing. I really really recomend it. No problems at all from me, and the HD content is stunning with only more to come (World Cup etc). I never thought I would use the ablility to record two channels and watch another but I do all the time. Its very convient.

    Besides the box was free, with SKY its £300 just for the box! Also if it breaks after your warranty your buggered. With Telewest its full support as many Tech visits as you need for.. FREE!

    Oh yea and 10mb interweb too! :clap:
     
  18. MERC4

    MERC4
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please explain 10mb interweb ? :confused:
     
  19. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    you know - the wibbly wobbly web - ie - www
     
  20. the porter

    the porter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,848
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,593
    he means internet :thumbsup: :rotfl:
     
  21. Tasslehoff

    Tasslehoff
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The World Wide net, interweb that crazy thing with the computers n stuff :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...