1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Telewest to Sony900 problem

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by DrChris, Feb 6, 2005.

  1. DrChris

    DrChris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone advise, I have a problem on my friends setup with connecting a telewest cable box to a Sony900 DVD Recorder. I connected as follows
    Telewest scart 1 to TV scart 1 - picture OK on TV
    Sony900 scart 1 to TV - scart 2 - picture OK on TV
    Telewest scart 2 to Sony scart 2 - problem - only black and white picture on sony when switched to L3.
    Changed settings on Sony to composite, RGB etc and no change.
    Changed scart lead (fully wired) on change.
    The telewast box appears to only allow composite/rgb on tv output.
    I have the same configuration on my Sony - Sky box and all works fine.
    Any ideas? - Think it could be output problem from Telewast scart 2!
    Thanks in advance.
    Chris
     
  2. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, only one scart output from telewest box is RGB, the other is composite IIRC.

    Andy
     
  3. DrChris

    DrChris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy

    Thanks for the reply but when you say 'composite IIRC' does that mean that there are no settings on the Sony what will enable a colour picture because I have tried all options RGB, Decoder and Video (the later which I thought was composite) for that input and no joy?

    Thanks
     
  4. Ricardfred

    Ricardfred
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have Sky but the same may apply to Telewest. Connect Telewest scart 1 to Sony scart 3. Connect Sony scart 1 to TV scart 1. Make sure Sony is set to output RGB.
     
  5. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried Telewest (tv) scart > DVD
    Telewest (VCR) scart > TV


    or why not Telewest (tv) > DVD > TV ?

    P.S. why are you using both outputs from the Telewest box?

    Andy
     
  6. DrChris

    DrChris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks all for the info. As suggested I connected scart 1 from telewest to scart 2 on dvd recorder, then scart 1 from dvd recorder to tv. All now works fine.

    Many thanks

    Chris :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...