1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Telewest PVR Inbound

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by Rasczak, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    Telewest have announced they will shortly be launching a PVR service equivalent to Sky+:
    This is good news for Cables owners who, uptil now, have had to endure lossy, Red Dot/DOGs recording.

    Source:
    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/article/ds18555.html
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  3. Nottman

    Nottman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gtr. Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4
    3 tuners and 160 gb - bliss! Wonder how much it'll cost?
     
  4. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool

    That would compliment my XS32 just great :thumbsup:
     
  5. alex812

    alex812
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Farnborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any reaction from NTL or is NTL too strapped for cash do do a similar deal?
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    I'm sure now one has announced plans the other will follow.
     
  7. TarMoo

    TarMoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +299
    See http://www.telewestinfo.co.uk/TWPVR.shtml for details of the Scientific Atlanta 3800.

    I plan to get a Plasma Screen soon and one of the major gripes for sets such as the Pioneer 435 is that it has a relatively poor picture for non-DVD sources such as Cable/Freeview/Sky.

    Any Ideas on what the outputs from this box are going to be and will the picture quality be better than currently available via the Telewest Pace Set Top Box. Thanks.
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    The criticisms of PQ from Sky/Cable sources is not so much to do with the connectivity of the boxes but more to do with the low bitrates used to transmit the material. Connectivity won't necessarily improve things either: odds are if you tried to watch a standard def Sky/Cable picture via HDMI/DVI then it would look dreadful - even badly authored, medium bitrate DVDs can look bad - let alone low bitrate Sky.

    The way to improve PQ of such sources is to purchase a scaler. Whilst you can get cheap ones the recommended ones will costs half as much as your screen again. TBH your best seeking advice on this on this subject from experts such as HornyDragon on the plasma forum.
     
  9. misog

    misog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hearing this news I now regret buying my FX32 3 days ago.
     
  10. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    What is an FX32 when it's at home? If your referring to the Toshiba RDXS32 then I can assure you then it is the perfect companion to any HDD PVR such as the Atlanta. You will be able to use the PVR for timeshifting (with the added advantage that interactive material - such as Red Dot - will be removed) whilst the HDD/DVDR is ideal for editing and archiving. It couldn't be a better combination - indeed most users here have Sky+ (the Sky equivalent) and a HDD/DVDR such as the Toshiba or Panasonic.
     
  11. misog

    misog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Toshiba RD-XS32. Must be too much vino!!! Where did FX32 come from.
    Anyway all I want is to record to HDD and to Timeslip so if I had known about Telewests plans I would not have bought the Toshiba and it dont work anyway. See my other thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...