1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Telewest Free Broadband Upgrade

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Embarker, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +63
    Just saw a banner on the telewest site saying that there is another free speed upgrade coming.

    750 goes to 1mb
    1.5mb goes to 2mb
    3mb goes to 4mb

    My 750mb gives over 90kb/s on average so 1 mb could be 120kb/s

    When I had the 3mb i got over 380kb/s so the 4mb could be more like 500kb/s.

    Would not wanna get bombed with pop up then :eek: :eek:

    I heard that telewest could go way higher than this but seem to be playing it safe staying just ahead of BT.

    If they can go higher why not just do it and let the punter decide if they want to pay for it now? £100 a month for a 15mb up and down service - tempting hey? :hiya:
     
  2. .Griff.

    .Griff.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +74
  3. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Telewest isn't capped though which is good.

    It's a shame they couldn't increase the upload for us game players.
     
  4. .Griff.

    .Griff.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +74
    Hey 120gig a month is fine by me. I haven't got anywhere to store more than that.

    £50 for uncapped 4mb or £40 for 120gig at 8mb... Wonder which I'm going for...
     
  5. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +63
    I like the idea that there is need for a phone line for broadband, I have the 750 and pay £25 dead. So unless adsl do a 1mb service for £10 in my area, (i.e less the line rental every month) i'll stay with Blueyonder.

    Who actually needs over 5mb anyway? ME
     
  6. joffonon

    joffonon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Westcliff-on-Sea, Great Britain
    Ratings:
    +2
    They will be on the 3Mb (soon to be 4Mb) package, as upload speed is increasing 50% to 384k.
     
  7. .Griff.

    .Griff.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +74
    If your exchange is LLU enabled you don't need to pay BT for the line.
     
  8. Synchro

    Synchro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +477

    How do you find out whether it is?
     
  9. .Griff.

    .Griff.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +74

Share This Page

Loading...