Answered Technics STR-DB930 + Technics SL-1800 Mk2

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Lastboyscoutuk, Mar 5, 2018.

?
  1. Technics

100.0%
  2. Audio Technica

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Lastboyscoutuk

Lastboyscoutuk
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, this is my first post on this forum and I'm a bit of a novice and after some advice please.

I currently have an Audio Technica AT-LP5, which has a built in phono stage, that is connected to my Technics STR-DB930 A/V Receiver, through the Phono input. I have considered buying a new amp, as I don’t think this is anywhere near the best setup.

However, I have the chance to get hold of a mint condition Technics SL-1800 Mk2 turntable and am seriously considering switching. Would I then need to buy a preamp to go between the Turntable and the receiver, as the SL-1800 doesn't have one built in?

Also, would I be mad to switch the turntables in the first place?

Thanks in advance for your help

2. Best Answer:
    Post #15 by Stinger69, Apr 1, 2018 (1 points)
  3. Ugg10

Ugg10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,440
    The 1800mk2 is pretty much a consumer version of the fabled 1200/1210mk2. Same tone arm, motor, quartz lock but with a suspended rather than fixed chassis. Depends on the price, these can go from £200+, one up at the moment for £500 but that is optimistic.

Receiver will take the 1800 but into the phono port if it is a mm cartridge or you can re-use your phono preamp into the aux port. (probably better).

Hope this helps.

4. Mark.Yudkin

Mark.Yudkin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,530
    Are you sure your "Technics STR-DB930" isn't actually a Sony STR-DB930? Assuming it is a Sony, it supports direct connection of MM turntables, so you won't need a separate phono preamp. Otherwise check the manual for your receiver if it is a Technics (and perhaps post the correct model number?).