Technical advice on a Nokia 6230i required from someone in the know.

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by mickrick, Sep 10, 2005.

Tags:
  1. mickrick

    mickrick
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Who really cares?
    Ratings:
    +21
    I was issued witha 6230i in work yesterday. It appeared to be pretty good - at first!

    Today, the ringing volume has started playing up. The ring tone starts very low and then gradually increases in volume. I have checked the profile (General) and it is set for "ringing" and not "ascending". I have checked all volume settings and they are all set to maximum. I had my bluetooth headset (Plantronic M2500) connected to it this morning and, thinking this may have caused the problem, I disconnected it. But the problem remains. I even tried resetting the phone to factory defaults, with no success.

    I then rang vodafone CS on 191 but after getting the welcome message, I then started getting a load of static-like noise. This happened the next time I rang as well.

    I am getting a bluetooth premium carkit fitted (free by work - RESULT!) on Wednesday and I really need the phone to be working properly before then. Does it sound stuffed, or can anyone suggest looking at some other resolutions.
     
  2. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    37,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,445
    Since you've tried all that, all I can suggest is a reset all settings to default
     
  3. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Moving to Mobiles and PDA's
     
  4. aligebes

    aligebes
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    My friend had the 6230 and it started doing the same thing, took it to Carphone warehouse who reckoned it was the software that had developed a glitch.

    £30 later and the phone is back working perfectly and has the latest 6230 firmware on it and it now recognizes a 512mb card correctly which it did not do before.

    I'm not saying this is the answer but it may be something for you to consider
     
  5. Uridium

    Uridium
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    If it's a work phone just throw it back at them and say fix it!
     
  6. mickrick

    mickrick
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Who really cares?
    Ratings:
    +21
    Nah, it was a day old. I'll just get a brand new one.
     
  7. RustyIdiot

    RustyIdiot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have this phone and started seeing the same thing, I've read up on a load of other forums a couple of days ago and it's not an uncommon problem. A lot of people seemed to think it was to do with having your ringing volume set to 5 which automatically switches on the ascending ring-tone, however I only ever had my ring tone vol set to 4 so this didn't really answer my problem.

    For me, simply turning the phone of and removing the battery for a min resolved the issue, altho I have a feeling it may come back. Time will tell - if it keeps happening I'll be taking it back to the shop and asking for a replacement.

    Just as an FYI my firmware version is 3.40 (you can get this by typing *#0000# into your keypad) which seems to be a newer version than a lot of people who were having problems indicating that this issue hasn't been fixed lately. My phone was supplied from O2 who took 2 weeks longer than vodaphone to make the phone available because of "software problems." My friend who got his phone from Vodaphone 2 weeks before me has ver 3.30.
     
  8. mickrick

    mickrick
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Who really cares?
    Ratings:
    +21
    Just as an FYI my firmware version is 3.40 (you can get this by typing *#0000# into your keypad) which seems to be a newer version than a lot of people who were having problems indicating that this issue hasn't been fixed lately. My phone was supplied from O2 who took 2 weeks longer than vodaphone to make the phone available because of "software problems." My friend who got his phone from Vodaphone 2 weeks before me has ver 3.30.[/QUOTE]

    I got my phone replaced with a brand new one a few days later. Yesterday the new phone started playing up again. One thing I have noticed is that I had the phone connected to my original handsfree car kit immediately prior to the problem happening. I used to have a 7250i and we (my colleagues and myself) we advised by Vodafone that the cradle for the 7250i would work with the 6230i. Now it seems it is a different fit and we have been advised not to use it anymore. As I originally stated, I got a bluetooth premium kit installed in my main car a couple of weeks ago and this works a treat.

    I have the ringing volume set to 4. I have also switched it off and left the battery out for about 5 mins. Hoefully that will be enough to reset it.

    Yeah, mine is 3.40 as well. Stupid Vodafone. Thanks for the info, man.
     
  9. inda_loft

    inda_loft
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very unlucky. I have a 6230i v 3.40 and have no problems with it at all!!! I even dropped it in the bath and its fine, although the speaker buggered up i guess from the water but after a quick blast with the hair dryer its fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice