Tech Rookie looking for advice

Discussion in 'What Speakers Should I Buy?' started by matd8764, Feb 28, 2013.

1. matd8764

matd8764
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a British university student looking into buying my first soundsystem and whilst researching on the internet I have become more and more confused as to what would be best for me.

First of all I will outline my priorities for the system. Probably 80% of it will be used for music, playing loud music for partying essentially but also for personal listening. I like deep, clear bass that shakes a room when turned up yet mids and highs are also important so I don't want the system to be geared fully towards bass. The other 20% of use will be for films and games although this is secondary to standalone music performance. My budget is slim being a student and £100-£150 is my aim.

I have three options in terms of the system setup, 2.0, 2.1 and 5.1. From what I have read, 2.0 will have the best sound quality in general for the price but would be lacking bass and power whilst 5.1 will be the most powerful but probably worst quality. 2.1 is a compromise in some ways.

Models I have been particularly interested in have been the Klipsch Promedia 2.1, yet this seems impossible to find in the UK for under £200 or without having to pay import taxes and shipping from the USA. I also nearly bought a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 bookshelf speakers yet was apprehensive about the lack of bass they would provide. I have however thought I could use them as standalone speakers for now and save up some more money for a sub in a few months or so. If anyone could inform me how well these speakers stand alone and whether they compare to a 2.1 system in this budget in terms of bass I would be grateful!

Anyway, that is the end of my essay. Thank you to anyone in advance who can give me any guidance for my needs as I have been lost in the internet for too long!

Matt