Teac TN100 direct to Cambridge Azur 650?

juniper

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Total newbie here when it comes to turntables, so excuse ignorance here! I have just decided to remind myself what my old vinyl sounds like, no have bought a Teac TN100 turntable. I have connected it via phono cables to the Aux input on my CA 650 integrated amp. Is this ok? I m finding that I have the volume up to about 50% on the amp, which is unheard of, and the sound is not as detailed as I was expecting. Have I done anything wrong? Any help or suggestions gratefully appreciated - thank you.

Is the Phono EQ switch on the back of the Teac set to on? Looks like the CA has no phono stage so you'll need to use the one in the Teac. Although that apparently is quite low anyway.

It may be worth trying some different inputs on the amp as they sometimes have different sensitivities, although I can't find anything in the specs.

Last edited:
Thanks - and yes I have the Phono EQ to on. I've tried the CD one now too but much the same. Have never had the amp above about 20% playing a CD through the same input. Thanks for your suggestions

Hi there,

As mentioned above it is worth reading my thread, a couple of tips I have though...

1. Yes you do need the amp volume up much higher.
2. The EQ settings on my AMP at least make a big difference, I suggest keep bass and treble flat across all speakers but set EQ to something like Prologic 2 (or similar for your amp) to out put to all speakers than just the front two.
3. Cables do help, I got the cheap but well made KableDirect phono cables off ebay.
4. The biggest difference was made using a separate preamp, in my case I got the Cambridge Azur 551P which I think is more than adequate. It's hard to explain but the sound is brighter and louder (not by much but rather than say "60" I can run my amp at around "45-50" volume now for the same loudness.
5. Keep the lid up when you are listening especially at high volume.