TEAC ADG200 receiver and existing speakers.

ChampionHero

Standard Member
Hi all
First timer poster here after some advice.

I'm very new to the whole surround sound setup, so hope you can help.

History : about 10 years ago I purchased a fantastic Technics home DVD stereo with Dolby 5.1 digital surround sound (dv280). This consisted of the regular rear and centre speakers (rca input to speaker wire) and two large floor speaker. These are bi-wired.

Naturally due to the age, the system has become obsolete sadly (although it's still one of the best sounding systems I've heard to date).

Current situation : obviously in order to get surround sound now days, I am going to have to upgrade. As such, after a lengthy discussion with the helpful staff in richer sounds, I decided to buy the above AV receiver instead of an all in one package, as I have a ps3 which can do that work.

Question: would it be possible to use the existing speakers from the Technics at all? On the rear of the speakers the following ratings are listed :

Centre: unsure need to dig it out
Rears: 70w @ 8ohms
Main speakers - high: 60w @ 6 ohms
Main speakers - low: 120w @ 8 ohms

The amp lists speaker impedance at 6-16 ohms on the back, so would assume I'm ok there. However, where I'm really unsure is 'how' I can connect these up...

For the rears/centre, can I simply remove the rca and pull the cable apart? (I can see it's two small cables)

As the main speakers are separated anyway, I assume I could simply wire the high (small woofer and tweeter) wires to the "front" inputs on the amp? However, with the low (d.subs) also being wires, and the amp having a pre-out rca type connector, I would need to convert those cables to a single rca jack, and then split it to go to both subs. Is this possible and would it work?