Question TCL 65DP648

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by 8ighTK, May 9, 2019.

Tags:
  1. 8ighTK

    8ighTK
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I've recently purchased one of these sets, but for the life of me, I can't figure out how to stop the panel dimming.

    This happens if there's a small amount of white text in the middle of the screen with a black background - just dims / fades away until the next bright scene where the backlight will kick back in.

    Anyone else with this set experiencing the same? I'm using the satellite input, but can't see that being an issue.

    Have turned off dynamic backlight and dynamic contrast. The last setting worked on my previous LG but not here.


    The other thing is viewing proper HDR10 content (where it confirms onscreen) via the set's Youtube app (using wired connection ~50mb fibre) ..... clips stutter / judder in places. Anyone else?


    Also, in the right lighting conditions and in right angles off-centre (eg. at night with the light on) and I've also noticed in daylight, with the TV off, I can see a line right down the middle of the screen. I'm not sure if this is the normal fabrication process of TV screens these days, but it seems to be two panels stitched as one on the underside / internal side. Is this normal / to be expected?

    When the TV's in use, there is no line and fortunately one side isn't darker than the other!

    Would be good to have TCL's input if they browse in these forums and of course experts within the field!
     
  2. TheGamer147

    TheGamer147
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have the dp628 model and have the dimming issue with 2 sets haven't been able to fix.

    I had issues with ps4 hdr going to dark on firmware 373 a technician come and fixed the hdr issue but dimming has not been fixed I might have to get a refund as I cannot watch itv on the firmware the tech guy used to fix the hdr.

    What firmware you on
     
  3. 8ighTK

    8ighTK
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    My firmware's V186
     
  4. TheGamer147

    TheGamer147
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    That the firmware I had on first set that had issue and the second set that I have at the moment was on 340 then 373 didn't fix but had hdr issue currently on v009

    Give tcl a call and let me know what they say if don't mind as they said I am first person to report the issue.
     
  5. TheGamer147

    TheGamer147
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did you call them?
     
  6. 8ighTK

    8ighTK
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I haven't yet.

    I've been experimenting and it seems fine in some situations.

    For example, playing the SES Astra 4k demo from youtube on the TV's app, the white text on the black background (detail, depth, contrast, colour etc) is fine whereas the test through the satellite input would dim at those stages of the clip.

    I also think it's okay when connected to the xbox one s.

    Having said that, I have noticed on some occasions on normal TV programmes through the satellite input that the screen may fade with the next bright scene fading back into full brightness.
     
  7. TheGamer147

    TheGamer147
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have experience all the same things you explained tcl said a new software update will be released this week
     
  8. 8ighTK

    8ighTK
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great!

    Lets hope it improves thing and not introduce other issues!
     
  9. TheGamer147

    TheGamer147
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah hopefully when I get it I will upload it
     
  10. 8ighTK

    8ighTK
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    What happened to the new firmware?
     
  11. TheGamer147

    TheGamer147
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    That info was incorrect they come and Install correctly firmware but my itv player doesn't work
     

Share This Page

Loading...