Question Tannoy Mercury M3's, what amp?

Cyberpistol

Novice Member
Afternoon all,

Newbie here, though not completely new to AV I've just picked up a pair of Tannoy Mercury M3's for £40 and wondering if anyone has a good idea on what amp to pair them with? I'm also looking at getting a sub to add a bit more punch eventually.

I'm good with things like placement, toeing them in, spikes, etc so just curious about amp ideas.

Budget not massive, but open to thoughts/ideas from people on here with better knowledge than me. Ideally I'll be going secondhand with the amp and have looked at Marantz PM6004 and Denon PMA250SE so far. Over you you lot and thanks in advance :)

gibbsy

With a sensitivity of 89dB they will not be too hard to drive. The Marantz has 45 watts at 8 ohms and the Denon, I believe just 30 watts in 8 ohm. The Marantz would be better suited if not pushed too hard. If looking for other amps on the used market I would not think of looking at anything below the power of the Marantz 6004.

Ugg10

Distinguished Member
The tannoys go down to 35hz at -3db so can dig pretty deep so I would see how they go before adding a sub.

As for amp, looking on eBay the Marantz goes for around £150 and the denon for £50-75. At the upper end you can get about an Audiolab 8000a, which well worth a thought if you can stretch to it (check for cracked rear rca plugs). Or an Arcam delta 290, but check for scratchy controls.

Last edited:

Cyberpistol

Novice Member
Thanks for the info gents, some good options by the sounds of things. Lots of these amps on eBay too which makes things easier. I'll wait before buying a sub as you say, see how they go without for now. Time to scour eBay.

Thanks again, really appreciate the response.

Cyberpistol

Novice Member
Cheers Paul - I like the look of the CA kit you mentioned, and the Internet backs them up too.