1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tamron 28-75 arrived - image sample

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by condyk, May 10, 2005.

  1. condyk

    condyk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    My new Tamron SP arrived today and seems a good one. It was a toss up between getting one of these and the Sigma 24-70mm EX.

    I took a load of shots indoors and seems to be able to produce about the same number of keepers as the Canon 50mm II, which is my benchmark inside lens.

    I've attached a shot taken of my pen-knife, a standard lens test item for me; I just applied my default USM, as I do with all images straight out the camera. This is at 75mm. At the wider end it is not so sharp, but doesn't matter to me as I have my Tokina for 20-35.

    It's nice and lightweight and all seems to work well. Hood fits easily and the front pinch lens cap is SUCH a design improvement over the standard types. Certainly an improvement on my ex Canon 28-135 IS and at least as good as my 50mm II, which is very sharp and reliable (I feel another sale coming on!)

    Recommended as a very decent indoor and outdoor carry around. :thumbsup:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Whats the exif on that shot mate?


    Do us a favour mate, take a shot of a room, wide open, no flash ect.


    Looks nice an sharp from what i can see, yes i know knifes are meant to be sharp:laugh:
     
  3. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
    can you upload the raw anywhere? Been toying with getting one of these for a while (especially as my search for a good, well priced 28-70L is going no where).
     
  4. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Can you do me one of a Spitfire........... :rotfl:

    Just kidding.....how about a car from a few differant angles.. :lease:
     
  5. condyk

    condyk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    A bit like tuning into the Smashy and Nicey Radio show for a minute there mate :rotfl: :rotfl:

    Focus point was centre of the edge facing, so nice accurate AF.

    Download original via: www.buzzdns.com/0727.JPG

    EXIF:
    Capture Time: 2005:05:10 15:50:22
    Camera Model: Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL
    Type: JPG Image
    Size: 1.8 MB
    ISO speed : 100
    Exposure time : 1/60
    Aperture : f 6.0
    Focal length : 75 mm
    Flash : Off

    I'll do a room shot in a while ... cats just been sick on the bl**** sofa :oops:

    Ok, sorted the Cat ... and the room shot with blinds closed and just normal room lighting is here: www.buzzdns.com/IMG_0739.JPG

    Car shots John? I'll have a go tomorrow when I'm off out to try the Sigma OS ... arrived today too but couldn't do much indoors with it. Very nice looker though :clap: which is the main thing!!
     
  6. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Whilst you're at it any chance of a portrait at say 50mm?
     
  7. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for taking the shot mate.

    I'd like to see some more at that aperture when you have time;)
     
  8. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Assuming we are talking about the same Lens I have... are you saying it is as good as a 50mm prime? I've been watching ebay with the idea of getting one to see what the fuss is about. If the difference is not that obvious I think I'll not bother.

    My Prague shots linked in a thread here were nearly all with this lens. Now I have learnt to never use pattern AF and just use the center they would have come out even better :rotfl:

    Oh and when you have walked miles and carried it around all day it does not seem that light in weight.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. condyk

    condyk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes, same lens ... pattern AF really pi**** me off today when I first got this lens. Took me a while to figure out the problem. I changed to centre single and improvement very significant immediately.

    The 50mm II is great but I wouldn't see a need for it if you have the Tamron, based on what i've seen today at least ... tho' some judgement reserved until I use it more. Even though resale is amazing on the 50mm it hardly seems worth the bother me writing an advert!
     
  10. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    The Exif says you used the flash in that shot?

    Or am I reading it wrong?

    "Flash : Flash fired, compulsory flash mode"
     
  11. condyk

    condyk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Capture Time: 2005:05:10 17:21:53
    Camera Model: Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL
    Type: JPG Image
    Size: 1.7 MB
    ISO speed : 100
    Exposure time : 1/60
    Aperture : f 6.0
    Focal length : 28 mm
    Flash : Off

    That's what I get having just downloaded the file myself again. I deleted the original.
     
  12. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
    the efix info does indeed say that the flash fired
     
  13. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems to vary according to what you use to view the exif! Acdsee has no entry against flash nor has M$ picture viewer. PSP says 'yes' against flash field.
     
  14. condyk

    condyk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hmm, Windows says No and yet PS CS says Yes.

    When I get time I will take another. Doesn't look like a flash image. I have a flash image and it is bright not dark like the one I posted!!
     
  15. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    It doesn't look like a flash image to me either.

    BTW I'm using Opanda Iexif 1.8 to read the Exif info. (and it says you've taken over a million photos total with your camera!!! 1070739 at the time of that shot to be precise)

    Maybe a bug in Canons Exif info recording? (if some other utils show it as flash on and some others show it as flash off)
     

Share This Page

Loading...