Talk Talk broadband.

Captain Speedy

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, from september i will be able to ditch BT and change to another supplier, as we have no cable support in our area the choice is limited to those who can supply thier own telephone cables, after searching around I have come up with Talk Talk and Tiscali with TT being the cheapest. Does anyone use them at the moment and what is their service like, particulary on live?

I have used the free TalkTalk for a couple of years now. No problems at all so far. Live has been solid - I would recommend it although I'm sure someone will post a reply saying they have had problems.

I think it's a bit of a lottery. My friend has Orange broadband and it has been down for them for nearly a month and other friends have BT and they have had issues there too.

OK, I'll stop waffling. My advice would be to go with TalkTalk.

I can't post from experience but a similar question was posted on our forums at work (I work in IT consultancy) and talktalk got a big negative reaction to be honest. Much like insurance companies, they appear to be fine until something goes wrong and that's when the problems start...the 'support' is supposed to be appalling.

As I said, that's other peoples' opinions so I'm not commenting on any personal experience.

Check out http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ for community reviews and advice. Something to look out for is companies that don't tie you in for a long period (12-18 months) i.e they are confident that the service they provide isn't going to see you upsticks.

As above, I cant talk from experience but ive heard nothing but bad things about talk talk.
Go to the link posted above and compare isp's and you will see how they compare.I use Eclipse who are consistently rated in the top 3 in the uk who i found through that site.