1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Taking the plunge - Arcam DV29/DV79 AVP700/P1000

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by Bored of Balham, Aug 17, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Bored of Balham

Bored of Balham

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone, a newbie here and to AV, and despite reading many. many threads and Arcam handbooks I am still as confused as ....
    The wife, football loving and doesn't mind wires everywhere (am I lucky or what!), has treated herself to a 42" Panasonic Viera, the new HDMI one.

We now need a a DVD player to do it justice and something to control the plethora of boxes that need to be connected (Sky, DVD, Video, DV Recorder, DVB Tuner) to it.

I was hoping to be able to get a DVD that would also play CD's quite well and it falls between the FMJ DV 29 and the Diva DV79. I currently have a Sony XES77 CD (circa 1991 - cost £1000) into an Audiolab 8000.

Would the FMJ DV29 play CD's as well as the Sony (technology has moved on a lot)? Or if not, is the DV29 worth the price differential over the Diva DV79 as just a DVD player?

A further question re the AVP700 processor. (naive question coming up) - can I use this to record from any source onto another and view a different source (e.g. record Sky/TV whilst watching a DVD)....by this I mean does the box just act like a set of "tape looops" which I assume will all work when the unit is in standby too.

I have no current plans for more speakers over the current two (although I am thinking about adding a centre speaker if it's worth it) - next question. Does the P1000 provide quality sound - (bi-amping the stereo speakers - currently bi-wired) to replace the Audiolab 8000? Or should I just stick with putting an audio output from the AVP700 into the Audiolab?