1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TAGtronic Programming Cable

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Rad, Mar 9, 2004.

  1. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hello,

    Does anyone have the pin layouts/diagram of this cable.

    I'm not keen on spending £80 just to do one software upgrade as I don't think there are going to be anymore for the AV32r.

    Or is there anyone in the Aberdeen area who might want to loan me one for a day or two.

    Cheers,
    Richard.
     
  2. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Has no one had this apart ???
     
  3. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Anyone got one I can borrow/hire for a weekend then??
     
  4. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    mods please close as I've got it sorted now.

    All thanks to Beekeeper.
    Rich.
     
  5. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +27
    I think I know the answer to this but............

    Is there a manual that comes with this cable. Looked on the website for a pdf but no joy. Can anyone help.

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  6. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    you just plug it in following the instructions on the software loader wizard, nothing else to know really.....
    Oh and the lead is a RS232 to RS485 convertor so not just a plain cable with connectors, it has a PCB and electronics as well..... I've had a few apart but not really worth the effort to make your own....(life's to short)....It is most used these days for loading TMREQ settings in and out of the RoomEQ wizard.
     
  7. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Graham,

    Could this be used for passing RS232 info to/from the AV32R? In another thread I'm tring to control my AV32R via RS232 and my programming lead has been effectively redundant for the past few years!

    Steve
     
  8. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Hi Steve.

    Our tame Ex TAG Chief Software Engineer got the unit to talk to a PC via a bit of software he wrote a very long time ago and Hyperterminal services was involved from memory. I have no idea if the AV32R can be "controlled" in the strictist terms of the RS232 word via the TAG bus programming cable though. I assume you don't have the 7.1 version......
     
  9. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Correct no 7.1 nor DP or this might have been a lot easier :(
     
  10. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Have a word with Stevesky...... Your right it would have been a LOT easier:rotfl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...