System Upgrade - selfbuild? Advice appreciated

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Bully9, Sep 4, 2007.

1. Bully9

Bully9

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    I'm thinking of upgrading my PC and i quite like the idea of building one - i'm no techie, but i'm sure there's plenty of advice to be had here. One of the reasons is that most off the shelf systems come with Vista and i think i'd prefer to stick to XP at this stage. I use several small open source apps which have little support and i'm guessing may not work in vista, and i'm not really interested in the bellls and whistles. Can i load my XP onto a new PC and still use it on my old one or do i need to buy a new copy?

Speed is probably the most important factor, I do a lot of video editing and multitasking - and i'd like a decent 19" widescreen. I don't game, but i do watch some streams - would a good graphics card be a good idea or a waste of money? It would be good to be able to output HD (as opposed to S-video at present) to the tv which has component inputs. Does this make sense?

One thing that obviously concerns me is if you screw all the bits together and they don't work, what do you do? It seems a bit of a minefield for a non techie, so any advice (including "forget it and go to PC world") much appreciated.

Oh, i guess i'm looking to spend around £500

2. enablerbro1

enablerbro1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +290
    Building your own PC isn't too difficult these days. Re your current XP, you can try and install it on your new PC and if you haven't reinstalled it too many times previously on different PCs or upgrades on your old one then you'll probably get away with it. Is it OEM or retail?