System link for more than 2 360s?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by McNab, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. McNab

    McNab
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +466
    Can you connect more than 2 360s together for system link play?

    If so, how?

    Cheers in advance.
     
  2. andrewrunagall

    andrewrunagall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    Router?
     
  3. Scapegoat

    Scapegoat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +137
    Yes. As indicated below, you need a router with multiple ethernet connections in. Simply connect each 360 to the router with an ethernet cable.
     
  4. McNab

    McNab
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +466
    Not being all that technically minded on networking stuff, I thought routers were for internet connections.

    I was thinking of some sort of hub thingy.

    Looking around on Overclockers I found THIS. Would that work? Seems cheaper than a router...
     
  5. RobDickinson

    RobDickinson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +748
    You wont need a router, just a hub/switch.

    People use routers because they usualy come with switches (& modems etc).
     
  6. NackNack

    NackNack
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +97
    Routers can be really cheap, some go for around a tenner for a wired one (four ports).
     
  7. McNab

    McNab
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +466
    Thanks for the advice.

    So, would that ethernet switch on my previous post work? If not, has anyone got any specific suggestions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice