1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Synchronising multiple DVD players

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cTrix, Aug 24, 2004.

1. cTrix

cTrix

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this is an odd request… but bear with me!

I am a final year student studying a multimedia arts degree, and have created a video project where by I need to play the final result across 6 television screens. Each television has a separate DVD ready to go, therefore logic would say, that if I purchase 6 same brand, same model DVD players… one remote would be able to trigger them all in synchronised playback.

I figure that this will work if:

- All the DVD players are the same brand and model

- The DVD-R I burn has a “sync” screen where by the disc has time to spin up and reach a title screen and I press enter to start the presentation.

The presentation run’s for about 10 minutes, and it isn’t critical if a couple of frames get dropped; although it is timed to music. I plan to return the videos to a black ‘menu’ after 10 mins, where by my remote will automatically play the presentation again (I’ve made a little robot out of Lego that presses a remote button every 10 mins)

Has anybody every put multiple identical models of DVD player side by side and compared them? Maybe in a store? Or tried to sync them?

I am aware of the Pioneer sync-able pro DVD players – but I can buy 3 DVD players for the cost of hiring one of these units for a day!! I’m looking at buying cheap, basic DVD players (like a Conia / Samsung / Digitrex)

I can’t see why any of this wouldn’t work – but just in case someone out there knows DVD players drift, I thought I’d ask. Any pointers would be appreciated or if any body has tried this, please let me know!

:smashin: