1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switching On AV Amp Does It Work Switched Off

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Garrett, Oct 2, 2003.

  1. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,333
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    At present I have an Audiolab amp which uses a mechanical switch (round switch with a raised grip that you click from one input to the other) to select which input to record from and one to listen to.

    If I go out I can leave the tuner on and select the input to tuner and record on the tape recorder and leave the amp off and the signal still goes through from the tuner to the amp. This can be from any other source and it would work.

    Does this work on AV Amps as most look as though they use electrical switches rather than manual device?
     
  2. kevenh

    kevenh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Royal County Of Berks...
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your worst fears are true! - Well, I'm sure my Yamaha 620 amp has to be on if I want to record a cd to tape.

    I can check that easy enough later (after 7pm) but is it a valid test for what you'd need to happen?
     
  3. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,333
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    Yes I suppose all the AV amps will be the same not unless some one knows different.

    At present I use all the inputs on the amp and I have a switching box for an other. I was thinking if I got a new receiver and integrated it into the system I would not need the switching box and as my father has run out of inputs on his amp I was going to let him have it.
     
  4. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Audiolab 8000S also has mechanical record switch.

    It has 3 line level inputs, 3 tape loops, two sets of pre-outs, and one set of poweramp inputs.

    AFAIK it has 1 more tape loop than the 8000A.

    Go on, upgrade to the 8000S. You know you want to!
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,333
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    :laugh: :laugh: I know you want me to.
    I will have to look into it. I might put the surround amp on hold but every thing is up in the air at present. Hence that other thread yesterday with the Yamaha 580.
     
  6. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,333
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    I have just remembered the 8000s does not have a phone stage for a record deck.:mad:
     
  7. andymc

    andymc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +15
    Okay - I know I been spending a fortune on new AV kit recently but I read your posts and was about to buy a Roksan Kandy MkIII amp - but you guys sound like you know where there is old Audiolab kit.... Anyone know where I can get hold of some Power Amps to go with my 8000a as it runs out of power and protects itself - I listen very loud and its always cuts out just hwen things are getting exciting..... the joys of living in the middle of nowhere...:clap: :clap: :clap:



    Any help would be appreciated as I am close to doing the deed.

    Cheers

    Andy C
     

Share This Page

Loading...