1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

switching off your plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by markbigears, Mar 25, 2004.

  1. markbigears

    markbigears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chalk, Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Reading the "instruction manual" last night, a great read by the way, has no info on how i should leave the plasma after viewing....ie: switch it off on the front panel or leave it on standby, as i'm doing right now. Any ideas guys?
     
  2. markbigears

    markbigears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chalk, Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    hello? so you guys watch TV 27/7 and never turn em off?
     
  3. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +242
    Mark,

    I always turn mine off completely, not sure if leaving on standby will damage it though.
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Can't believe leaving them in Stancby would damage them in any way. If it would why have a standby option. You must be very paranoid :)
     
  5. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    I leave mine in standby . I wouldhave thought it better that way as powering it upis not as mush of a shock to the electronic that way . just like lighting is allways best dimmed on and off that way the bulbs last longer
     
  6. markbigears

    markbigears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chalk, Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    squid, thats what i was thinking, cheers guys
     
  7. Eagerbeaver

    Eagerbeaver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed that if I turn off at the power button at night, the following morning there is still a "ghost " of last nights image which stays for a minute or so after turning on again.

    If I turn off into standby the image is not there in the morning.

    Standby for me.
     
  8. adesonic

    adesonic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had mine for over ayear now and always use standby (unless I am away for a few days) - no problems whatsoever
     
  9. Supra

    Supra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've always left it on standby, unless going on hols or away for a long time. I do the same with all my equipment, same reason as squid.
     
  10. emad

    emad
    Banned for trading fraud

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ditto all - standby for me
     
  11. Dixie

    Dixie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    yep Standby for me too.

    wd4 37" June2002
     
  12. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    standby here:D
     
  13. ResB

    ResB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Off here. Standby is a temporary setting and I believe is used for short period of time. :)
     
  14. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i turn my off incase dog/cat/misses presses the remote and leaves a channel with logo on by mistake.
     

Share This Page

Loading...