Switching from Sky - do I still need an install?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by ndenbow, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +12
    Just wondering, as I already have a quad LNB and 60cm dish for Sky+, do I still need to pay for an installation? Surely just picking up a box from a shop would be sufficient? I'm making an assumption that the FreeSat signal comes from the same dish alignment?

    Thanks in advance for the replies.
     
  2. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    You are correct. All you need to do is disconnect the Sky box, connect the Freesat box (to the same connectors) and away you go. The same satellite dish, and the same cables, are used by both.
     
  3. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +12
    So I am perfectly able to go into a shop and just buy the thing, and they won't hassle me to schedule some sort of installation?

    Thanks for the quick reply BTW.:thumbsup:
     
  4. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +57
    I did at Argos.
     
  5. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +12
    Superb.

    I just ordered from Comet. They have 150 Humax FOXSAT HD PVRs coming in next week, 90 of which are already on back order. Back orders take priority over store stock so I am guaranteed one. Being delivered 9th Feb (the wasn't the earliest but was most convenient).

    Right, time to call Sky and tell them to ****** ***.
     
  6. Stiggy

    Stiggy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sandy Heath
    Ratings:
    +1,043
    I hope you are out of contract, or any hassle you got in a shop will appear minor compared to Sky! :suicide:
     
  7. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +12
    My sky contract is about 8 years old so no problem with that. I'm not the type of person who takes out new contracts to get new stuff just for the sake of it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...