Answered Switch from OPPO 203 to which media player?

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by AllTaken, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +119
    I'm looking to switch away from my OPPO 203. It has its own issues with HDR, though it does a perfect job at switching colourspaces and frame rates on the fly.

    Could anyone suggest an alternative that would automatically switch between colourspaces, auto detect frame rate, tone map HDR correctly and is judder/skip free?

    I know the shield has just been given a developer option to enable colourspace switching (Finally!) in the latest 7.2.2, anyone tried it?

    Thank you
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #5 by Mister_Tad, Jan 8, 2019 (1 points)
  3. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    FC5F8D35-992C-4259-8950-F762B77A7131.jpeg

    Went from a oppo 93 to a Nvidia shield tv never happy with picture performance / Quality [ besides its a gaming machine of all ] moved to a Zidoo X10 then to the newer Zidoo Z10 Model and picture - sound is stunning .

    Or the cheaper model Z9s
     
  4. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +119
    Thanks, can it do everything set out above?
     
  5. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    At the moment im testing with beta firmware and 1080p DTS HD master 5.1 / 7.1
    And several Movies and tv shows so far so good and frame rate testing etc all good .
     
  6. Mister_Tad

    Mister_Tad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +249
    Best Answer
    What are your sources for media?

    As far as I know there's nothing out there that does everything well across all the major sources, and is painless in use.
    Apple TV 4K gets the closest in my experience (and does the things you mention), however I still have my Shield TV as well for HD audio playback in Plex, which ATV does not do.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  7. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +119
    I play my UHD library and 1080p library from a NAS over a gigabit network. Usual mix of HDR and SDR content that is a mix of 24/60. Also use the occasional 3D although that could be solved at a later time. I'm using lossless audio currently and would like a player that has support for DTS:X and Atmos bit streaming.

    Isn't that the issue I'm having :facepalm: I'm leaning toward the Shield again - the latest update fixes colourspace? Does it seamlessly switch between 24/60 content in Kodi or similar?

    Shield ticks all boxes bar the confirmation of colour space switching now working and frame rate matching in kodi or another app. Apple TV would be fantastic aside from the inability to output lossless audio.
     
  8. Mister_Tad

    Mister_Tad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +249
    IIRC if it's for your local library, Kodi will do the switching for you no problem (I think even before the system-wide update? Someone else may have to confirm that).

    Problem with Kodi being of course, it's just for your local media. I switched (or rather, added) ATV due to auto-switching issues in Netflix and Amazon.
     
  9. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +119
    Looks like I might be going with the Apple TV and a shield in that case. Is there an Android based solution that does 24p Netflix/Amazon?
     
  10. Mister_Tad

    Mister_Tad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +249
    I think you may be okay with just the Shield... with the switching issues being resolved at a system level (reportedly), it should only be a matter of time before it's implemented in the streaming apps.

    Though I'm not sure if Atmos is supported in Netflix on the Shield yet, support in Amazon has recently landed though... hard to keep track.
     
  11. JabbaNut

    JabbaNut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Earth, uk
    Ratings:
    +205
  12. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +119
    Thank you. I'll leave this open for now just incase anyone has a solution that fits in one box.
     
  13. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +119
    @JabbaNut I'm fairly confident that's a lesser shield for my setup. Appreciate the input but it's not getting its intended use in that I run a Synology already so have no need for local (USB or SATA) playback. Unless I'm missing something and it does colourspace switching and 24/60hz playback correctly? Thanks
     
  14. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +119
    Oh, also like to add that I run an Xbox One X - does Netflix run at 24hz on the machine? Just trying to resolve a 2 box plus Xbox solution into 1 box (Shield perhaps) plus Xbox for 24hz Amazon/Netflix and lossless.

    Does the Amazon 4K stick offer 24p playback via Netflix and prime?
     
  15. Mister_Tad

    Mister_Tad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +249
    Problem with the Android boxes (note, Android, not Android TV) tends to be that whilst you have the Play store for access to all of the streaming apps, they're the Android streaming apps for a phone/tablet screen and touch interface. Potentially good or even excellent with first party apps for local media and the like, but not so for streaming services.

    There was a time before the Amazon Android TV app was on the Shield that the only option was to side-load the Android App, it was a dog to use with a remote.

    I don't believe Netflix+Atmos, or HD audio is supported yet on Amazon devices, and the ongoing Amazon/Google spat precludes YouTube support if that's an issue... not sure about refresh switching
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  16. Coruja3D

    Coruja3D
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    Had me going there for a moment as I'm thinking about upgrading to the Z from the X. But this is a link to the old X I think.

    I'm a big fan of the Zidoo, but one drawback could be that it doesn't - and likely never will I understand- support DV. I guess the Shield does?
     
  17. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    Shield does not support DV and at moment most Android boxes dont !
    But small chance the Zidoo Z series may get HDR10 + update in the future . :)
     
  18. JabbaNut

    JabbaNut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Earth, uk
    Ratings:
    +205
    Its a link to Z9s

    These should know answers to questions

    Zidoo X9S, X8 & X10 (4K / HDR / 3D / HD Audio): Review & Owner Tips

    Zidoo forum

    Zidoo Z9S - High Performance Media Boxes - UK BASED - futeko.com. ##### READ THIS #####

    The ZIDOO X9S features a RTD1295 processor, fully supporting Premium 4K UHD contents with a powerful 64bit CPU and Mali-T820 GPU combination in place to handle 4K graphics and offers strikingly realistic pictures. It supports a wider color spectrum (BT.2020) and a 10-bit color, amounting to 1.06 billion colors, instead of the 16 million offered by older 8-bit color technologies, therefore, the gradations between shades and different tones on onscreen content present a far greater degree of realism.

    ARM Mali-T820

    The ARM Mali-T820, equivalent to an Octa-core Mali 450,provides the optimal blend of features and efficiency to deliver rich user interfaces and compelling content.

    2GB+16GB

    2GB DDR3 RAM makes bigger games run smoothlyand the utilization of eMMC memory offers an array of benefits in terms of performance security and reliability,resulting in a richer end-user experience.

    HDMI 2.0a interface supporting HDR transmition

    HDMI 2.0a added HDR(High-Dynamic Range) support based on HDMI 2.0. HDR provided far more detail ofpicture and expands the dynamic range,to get a true vision effect.Additionally,

    ZIDOO X9S supports decoding of [email protected] HEVC(h.265)10bit and and encoding H.264.
    Android 6.0 + OpenWRT
    Android 6.0 + OpenWRT(NAS) dual system run simultaneously,Support samba server,iTunes(DAAP) server,DLNA(UPnP) server,FTP server,AFP function(for Apple TimeMachine),BitTorrent download function.

    Multi channels decoding and passthrough

    Support Dolby Digital and DTS-HD passthrough and downmix . Play everything you want,Such as HTML5,MKV, MP4,BD ISO ,3D MVC(ISO and MKV),VP9, etc..

    Gigabit Ethernet, AC WIFI & Bluetooth

    With the Gigabit Ethernet and 802.11ac dual band WIFI supporting 2.4G and 5G, 5dB Double antenna.

    ZIDOO X9S can provide reliable network access with high data rates.

    Additionally, the Bluetooth 4.0 module allows connection to your BT speakers, Keyboard, Mouse and many more.

    HDMI IN
     
  19. JabbaNut

    JabbaNut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Earth, uk
    Ratings:
    +205
    I am writing this on a s905X khadas Vim and have YouTube app from the Google store, or watch in browser Firefox.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  20. mike0zero

    mike0zero
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +169
    Be weary of the Zidoo/ Android boxes skipping frames as the chipset cannot match the required 23.976 frame rate timing so they skip frames every now and then, if you notice this is will be a big issue, users have said they don't notice it but trust me it's there.

    I use a Vero 4K+ and its the best media box I have had, not perfect but great judder/ skip free 1080p/ 2160p 23.976 playback which is important.
     
  21. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    No skip frames on the new Zidoo Z series.
     
  22. mike0zero

    mike0zero
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +169
    What makes the Z10 different to the X9/X10/X20 as they all skipped, maybe you just don't see them on your plasma display, all those models on my Sony PJ skipped frames.
     
  23. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    I do notice nearly everything

    And the Z series use a slight diff chipset
    And at moment no reports of skipped frames so far .
     
  24. dave uk

    dave uk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +145
    You sure? might be worth me sending back my X9s to amazon and getting the new Z99s
     
  25. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    So far so good as ive testing now on my 5th movie and 1/2 tv series no stutter noticed .
    Still testing but overall happy to say no stutter / skipped frames .

    Will test / watch more over weekend
    If i notice anything will report on my thread etc .
     
  26. dave uk

    dave uk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +145
    any chance you have run some high BR stuff?, I had issues few nights ago watching night school on a rip of my UHD disc in ISO format.
     
  27. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    5gb to 20gb mkv files so far in Dts Hd Master 5.1 /6.1
    Note : 1080p material only
     
  28. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    Here is a chart test that was made by a fellow uk member on frame rate and banding etc . EBD6C070-766B-4A00-9642-B5A69923FC42.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  29. Coruja3D

    Coruja3D
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    @DELUCAS did you ever notice any on your X? I'm pretty sensitive to motion and cadence issues but can't say I've noticed any on mine. Haven't played much 4K stuff, but in my experience 1080 and 3D stuff has been rock solid. Could well pull the trigger on a Z soon!
     
  30. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +900
    Short answer yes on the X series

    Some mkv it was not observed and some yes .....
    All down to mkv files and id imagine how there encoded etc
    Some as not as bad as others .

    Some people may see it some may not
     
  31. Coruja3D

    Coruja3D
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    Thank you @DELUCAS - a solid reason to upgrade to the Z from the X then :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice