SVS PC-2000 with an Antimode ?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by panman40, Aug 12, 2018.

  1. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    So after having the svs PC-2000 for a short while I really like it, however my room isn't great for audio and I'm getting some boom if I turn up the wick, my avr's eq has improved this a lot as toggling eq on and off I can hear it.
    Going back a couple of years I tried a Bk monolith plus which was very boomy in the front left corner ( my only option) so I tried an antimode, I can't remember which model it was but it was the cheapest unit. After calibration I don't think I gave it enough time to get accustomed to the new bass and went back to a smaller sealed sub.

    So basically I'm wondering if anyone's using the antimode (8033C?) with a PC-2000 or any other svs ported sub and if you think it would work for me ?.

    Thanks in advance .
     
  2. andym81

    andym81
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    GB
    Ratings:
    +138
    I would try and find the best placement before looking at an antimode.

    What avr are you using
     
  3. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Sadly it's my only placement option as I said, my AVR is the Yamaha rxa3060 which is supposed to eq down to 15.6hz but some say that's not possible due to the Yamaha mic.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018
  4. stewjoy

    stewjoy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +341
    Hi panman,
    I have a antimode with my bk xxls400 and it brought more control to the base. If you do go ahead with one I would take various positions for measurements, when I only did mlp only I thought I had more bass nearer to the walls , when I did three ie mlp then another to left and right about half a meter from side walls it sounded more balanced, I wouldn’t be without it now. I have the same avr as you RX-A3060. Can’t answer how it would sound with svs sub.
     
  5. andym81

    andym81
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    GB
    Ratings:
    +138
    I believe it'll eq down to 30hz, I maybe wrong.
     
  6. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +998
    I have a PC13U and I recently installed an antimode 8033C. I'd been contemplating one for some time and I finally decided I had to try it.

    My sub can only be placed in one position in my room (due to layout/furnishings etc) and I've never really been totally happy with the sound. The sub is great but layout not perfect.

    The transformation that the antimode has made is stunning! Boominess is gone, bass is superbly controlled, musical (when needed) and seems to run deeper (I have the subsonic filter off and the sub tuned to 10Hz).

    I can thoroughly recommend trying one. For the relatively low price you will not regret it. I only wish I had bought one sooner!
     
  7. Gasp3621

    Gasp3621
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +917
    There is also the newer SII model for +70£ more. Higher correction range and extra filters, extra connnectors, soft start..


    8033-C and 8033-S Comparison Table

    8033 Cinema 8033 SII
    Correction Range
    16 - 160 Hz 16 - 250Hz
    Frequency Range 5 - 160 Hz 5 - 250 Hz
    Input Connectors 1xRCA (mono) 2xRCA (stereo)
    Power switch Manual Soft power on/off (no switch)
    12 VDC power option Yes Yes
    Gold-plated connectors Yes Yes
    Addtional Filters - 5 low-pass and 2 dipole correction modes

    Anti Mode 8033 SII
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +998
    I did look at the S3 but it was not necessary for me - I got the 8033C for £205 brand new from BK Electronics on Ebay.

    Only have one sub and don't have a dipole sub so didn't need it. Higher correction range not needed above 160Hz for sub anyway.

    Be quick! Ebay seller colosussxb (BK Electronics) has a brand new S3 for £265 inc. on there at the moment.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018
  9. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Thanks very much for the replys guys, plenty to think about, I've been looking at the classifieds but the 8033c doesn't come up often. I would like the option to buy / try / sell on if it didn't work out for me.
     
  10. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Nothing seems to come up in the classifieds so seriously thinking of pulling the trigger on the £205 C model, the only advantage I can see that might affect me on the S model is soft start, I plan on having the antimode plugged into my power supply that's powered off at night/when at work, any issues with that ?.
     
  11. stewjoy

    stewjoy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +341
    Shouldn’t be a problem, when you are happy with sound you press one of the buttons to store your measurements, when switched back on it will be as you stored.
     
  12. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +10,079
    The AM memory store is not affected by powering on and off.
     
  13. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,294
    I have just bought an Antimode Cinema that I probably won't need, are you in any rush to buy one?
     
  14. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    I'm hovering on buying it lol!, not really in a rush no.
     
  15. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +429
    15% off Ebay today till 8pm today.
     
  16. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Just picked one up from eBay with 16% off.
     
  17. stewjoy

    stewjoy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +341
    Hi panman,
    Can’t remember if you said you had one before, if you haven’t turn the gain on the sub down when doing measurements it can be quite loud.
     
  18. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Hi, yes it was me, had it with a monolith plus. Your right the sweeps were very loud! I think I had the mono at 10 o'clock but might try the svs at 9 o'clock so I don't scare myself lol.
     
  19. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Ok I managed to hook up the antimode earlier today, I ran the calibration which did I think 7 sweeps. I had the svs at 9 o'clock volume and although parts of the sweep seemed fairly loud I'm not sure if I should have turned the volume up more ?.
    When I had a bk monolith plus at 9 o'clock volume I had to go out the house!.

    Anyway I then ran ypao and the avr sub level was +5db so I ran/cancelled each ypao run whilst increasing the sub volume until the avr level showed 0.0db which happened to be 11 o'clock on the sub dial.

    I haven't had much time to test but the ''skadoosh' moment from Kung Fu panda was more impressive than before. Also looking at the peq sub graph on the avr it's a lot less dippy and peaky.

    Any tips on if I should re do the antimode setup on a higher sub volume or if I should increase the avr sub volume from where ypao set it ?.

    Cheers.
     
  20. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,294
    It doesn't really matter about the level during Antimode calibration. You can increase the sub trims after calibration to suit your tastes.

    Ideally you want to get your YPAO to set the sub trims around -8db, then you can boost the sub trims a few db while not running into + numbers, which could cause clipping but much less likely if listening at lower volumes
     
  21. stewjoy

    stewjoy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +341
    The only reason you turn the sub volume down when taking readings useing the antimode is so it doesn’t deafening you, after you have done your measurements , you then turn sub volume up so that you get a reading of approx -4.0db/-5.0dbin the avr using ypao. This then allows you to turn up the level in the avr to your liking so that it is not above 0.0db . Eg you have scope to increase it by -4.0db without going over 0.0db. Hope this helps.
    Stewart.
     
  22. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Thanks guys :), can I ask why clipping may occur if you set the AVR sub level in the + figures ?, is it not the same thing turning sub volume up/ AVR sub volume down and vice versa to reach the same level ?.
     
  23. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +10,079
    It could also be done to prevent the AM mic reaching saturation point.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
  24. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Is it best to leave the antimode well alone or does anyone use the 'Lift' options ?, I don't quite understand what they do exactly.
     
  25. stewjoy

    stewjoy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +341
    I use lift 35, prior to that I had it at subsonic. But a friend of mine did it with REW and the better reading was at lift 35. If you look at the manual it gives graphs of what the different lifts do.
     
  26. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Thanks, I've no idea about REW, tried once and gave up lol, I just wish audio calibration was as simple as video!. I will read the manual.
     
  27. stewjoy

    stewjoy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +341
    I don’t panman,but just try the lift options to see what you like, if you press lift 25 and 35 at the same time you get subsonic both lights are on dimly, if you just want lift 25 or 35 just press buttons individually, I’ve got lift 35 because it had the better measurements according to the graph.
     
  28. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    Will do stew, I need some time on my own I think to repeat play film tracks whilst listening, not something that's particularly wife friendly lol.
     
  29. stewjoy

    stewjoy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +341
    Ye, I know what you mean.
     
  30. panman40

    panman40
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    17,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,761
    My MLP to sub distance is 11 feet, Ypao before antimode set this to 15 feet, after antimode it's now at 21 feet. That seems excessive to me ?.
     

Share This Page

Loading...