SVIDEO from NTL Pace to Panny 5 - fuzzy b&w?!?

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by FaxFan2002, Jul 21, 2003.

  1. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,116
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    Hi,

    Just got a Panny 5 and I've got the following setup / problem:-

    NTL (PACE) cable box -> SVIDEO -> Yamaha AMP -> SVIDEO MONITOR OUT -> Panny 5 VIDEO connection

    The output is Black and White which is slightly fuzzy. I *think* it maybe a RGB problem not sure - it did work fine on my old rear projection TV. Composite & SVIDEO work fine from other sources. Any NTL users out there who have had the same problem? - I will try via composite tonight and see what happens. I will also by trying comp. video with a pal progressive dvd player - can't wait!

    Thanks in advance,

    Robin.
     
  2. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Funny how several people seem to get the same problems at once.

    This sounds like what you get when you have a composite feed going down an s-video line. As far as I can make out from what I have been told on here, you are only getting the luminace (sp?) information. The colour information is sent down the other pair of wires.

    If it were a SCART connection, I would say you need to find the settings in your NTL box to turn the s-video signal on (because SCART cannot send composite / RGB and s-video out all at the same time). This may still hold true if your box has SCART out as well. Maybe the s-video can also be connection can be switched on and off from a menu or something.

    If not you can always buy a cheapy composite to s-video adapter (£5 from Maplins).
     
  3. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi did not think ntl has a s-video output
     
  4. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,116
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    technical it doesn't - but I have put a SCART adapter on with a SVIDEO feed. I've tried all the settings in the NTL box with no joy...

    All my stuff is SVIDEO don't really want to swap over to composite if I can aviod it.
     
  5. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Yep. This is exactly the same issue I had.

    If you want to keep the PQ of RGB then you will need the adapter described by jmack above. However the composite to s-video adapter remains an alternative. It just enables you to transmit on both the colour and luminance lines of s-video from a composite source. PQ will be as for composite, unfortunately.
     
  7. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,116
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    Composite it may have to be then, or RGB passthru SVIDEO convertor thing. I will weigh up the options - it would appear all my other stuff (DVD recorder, XBOX) work ok.

    Composite vs. SVIDEO quality - about the same?

    Also I am going to pass thru my Gamecube and PS2 via a VGA adapter - any known issues?

    Thanks for the advice guys..

    Robin
     

Share This Page

Loading...