Surrounds Placement

jamie9141

Novice Member
Hello, I am new to the world of Home Cinema and am building the following setup. The aim is 5.1 initially and potentially adding in two up firing speakers in the future for 5.1.2.

Denon AVR 2700H
Q Acoustics 3010i (front LR)
Q Acoustics 3090 (front C)
Q Acoustics 3060s (sub)

I also have two Q Acoustics 7000LRi + stands for the surrounds. However, now realising that to use the stands the sofa would need to come away from the wall too much. I bought these speakers second hand and they didn't come with wall mountable feet. Now I am second guessing my whole plan.

Can someone sanity check for me please that 5.1 is possible with this layout? And if so, any recommendations for speakers with wall mounts that allow for a near right-angle tilt? Seeing as I'll probably have to sell the Q7000* gear I have now as it seems impossible to buy replacement feet for the speakers and they don't even seem like they can rotate at the angle I need them.

I've attached a design of my space, the sofa is not quite that big in real life.

Any advice much appreciated. TV is 65 inch 4k, and the electrical wiring is in place already so TV position can't be moved. I'm planning to run speaker wire before my floor is installed this weekend.

Thanks

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 12.17.12.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 12.17.12.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 52
  • Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 12.14.18.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 12.14.18.png
    105.1 KB · Views: 51
Last edited:

gibbsy

You've not got much scope for their placement which is not that unusual unless you have the luxury of a purpose built cinema room. Your positions look about right for them and placing them roughly where you have them should enable you to safely run the speaker wire you require.