Surround sound with headphones

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by maverick177uk, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. maverick177uk

    maverick177uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,349
    Just a quick question I'm going to use an old set of X41s with a new PC the x41s use an optical input for surround, now my question is do I need a special sound card for this as many say on board 7.1 sound but I can't see optical/spdif output. I do remember last time the amount of wires coming out for a speaker set up or can it all be done via USB these days if that's the case I may look at a new set of headphones.
     
  2. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Most (if not all) modern mobos with onboard sound should have an optical out - I know mine does. There may be a cap over it, so that's why you might have missed not seeing one before. What board do you have?

    [​IMG]

    Just been having a look around and it seems optical out is mainly found on the mid to high-end boards and not so much on the basic models.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
  3. maverick177uk

    maverick177uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,349
  4. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Unfortunately that particular board doesn't have the optical out. You'd need something like the GA-Z87MX-D3H or GA-Z87X-UD4H. Might be worth giving them a call to see if you can 'upgrade'.
     
  5. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,173
    strange it aint got one, thought all would. You got the customise and buy option, change to the Z87-D3HP for extra 20 quid. Or add the Xonar DGX soundcard.
     
  6. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Couldn't understand it myself. I don't think I've ever had a board without it tbh. :confused:
     
  7. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,173
    I know, even my 4 1/2 year old gigabyte has one. Id see more value in adding the Xonar to be honest.
     
  8. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    In all honesty I've never been that bothered about the sound to warrant getting a soundcard. I currently have a simple 2.1 setup which is fine for what I use it for really. :smashin:
     
  9. Cha1ky

    Cha1ky
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    49,948
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +24,996
    Likewise, I use onboard sound through my Z5500's and its absolutely fine.
     
  10. Jamezinho

    Jamezinho
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ipswich, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +3,353
    You need to look for a sound card that offers either Dolby Digital Live or DTS Connect. These will give you proper surround sound through an optical port.
     
  11. maverick177uk

    maverick177uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,349
    Cheers guys ill try to upgrade the sound card for proper surround I love it in my games it just adds to the whole experience.
     
  12. Jamezinho

    Jamezinho
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ipswich, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +3,353
    I use the Asus Xonar DX. It's the cheapest Dolby Digital Live sound card in the Xonar range but you're still looking at around £60.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice