1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Surround sound through Sky

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by BOUMSONG, Jun 26, 2005.

1. BOUMSONG

BOUMSONG

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    A good few months ago i decided to get this - http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0001A981Q/ref=ase_pricerunner-21/202-7824042-5215038 which was a bundle of 7.1 speakers and decoder.

One of the reasons i got it was so i could get surround sound of some description through my TV in my bedroom. The thing is, i know very little and at this moment in time i am still no expert! The set i have is a Logik set but i think it is basically a differently badged version of this - http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...lay=both&filter_order=rating_useful&offset=10

Basically what i want to know is how do i get surround sound through my TV? I have tried various connections. Can i et 5.1DD with sky? My digibox is this - Thomson DSI 410. The thing is my digibox is downstairs and it is up stairs i have my speakers. I use a tv link to watch sky in my room.

I also have a an Audigy 2 Zs and my setup lets me have 7.1 EAX in PC Games, 5.1DD when watching DVD's through my PC using SPDIF, 5.1 DD on my xbox etc etc. The missing link is when watching TV! And its quite a big missing link! There must be a way?

2. Alun

Alun

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +247
    You can only get DD from sky on selected movies and with the sky+ box, if you had this you would then need to run an optical lead from the sky box to your decoder package.
    to get your dvd's on your telly and surround sound, you could use your xbox with the optional microsoft tv lead which has an optical output which your amazon box can input. hope this helps

3. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270