Surround sound Novice - Please Help

Adam R

Novice Member
Hi All, I know a bit about my plasma TV, PS3 Sky HD set up etc but I know nothing about a dedicated 5.1 surround set up.

I currently have the following:

Panasonic TH42PZ85BA
SKY+HD
PS3
Xbox 360 etc

I have the Panny, sky HD & PS3 connected to an old £99 acoustic solutions 5.1 surround sound system mod no:DS533 which is ok but the small surround sound spaeakers seem a little weak.

I know nothing about AV receivers or amps or even what the difference is! Av receivers seem to be a biy of a mine feild to me with so many different options available!

Anyway, what I would like to know is is it possible to get a decent surround sound set up for about £200-£300 inc amp & 5.1 speakers?
If so what options, makes or specifications do I need to look for for my set up?

I do quite like the Kef KHT1005's but they are £199 so not leaving me much spare for an amp.

Please help a complete novice & point me in the right direction :lease:

crisdo98

Standard Member
I'd check this link out at richer sounds for a decent AV receiver.
ONKYO TXSR506-SIL at Richer Sounds - HI-FI Separates, Home Cinema, Speakers, MP3 DVD Portables, Plasma LCD, etc.

I think the problem you're going to have it that you'll run out of optical fibre inputs as most these only have 2 at the back and possibly 1 at the front.

Other recommend the Onkyo 506 for it's value. There are some cheap pionner speakers over at Play.com that I also have but they tend to not be in stock at the moment :( . sounds is good and I'd recommend them for their price.

Play.com (UK) : Pioneer S-V240-QL Home Cinema Speakers : Electronics - Free Delivery

All the best.
Chris

Adam R

Novice Member
I think the problem you're going to have it that you'll run out of optical fibre inputs as most these only have 2 at the back and possibly 1 at the front.