1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Surround package for my new pioneer system

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by mjhbell, May 26, 2004.

1. mjhbell

mjhbell
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Newbie here...

Just replacing my old system (Sherwood 8090 and Celestion F1's) with a new setup. I'm seeking suggestions for a 5.1/6.1 speaker package.

Just ordered a pioneer VSX-C501-S reciever and DV-565A-K DVD. (Alas the 668 was too much)

Got a budget of about £500 (not inc. cable), will be mostly used for movies, but good quality audio is a must. All sats must be wall mount and small'ish.

I have been looking at the Mission m30 cinema pack, are there any opinions on this set or other suggestions?

I have a preference for a very clear, detailed sound.

I understand the Kef 2005.2 are very good, but a bit out of my range.

Thanks in advance,

Mike.

2. Ed Selley

Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,147
    The Mordaunt Short Premiere system will wall, stand or shelf mount and in its Plus varient is capable of the sort of sound you're after. It sounded pretty smart with the 501 as well (tested with a 656 rather than a 565). Wall mounts are available seperately.
    Ed

3. Ian182

Ian182

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +100
    Hiya,

I too own the Pioneer VSX C501, and have paired it with the KEF 1005's. (I would have gone for the 2005's, but the spending had to end somewhere !).
    I've been very impressed with them - they seem to be a good match for each other, and are equally adept on movies and music. (to my ears anyway). The 1005's are wall mountable, though I've got mine on the KEF stands.
    I paid £400 for them from a local AV store who price matched SuperFi. Think they might have gone back up to £500 now though.........

Ian.

4. mjhbell