1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Supergrace Radeon 64Mb VE

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by tryingtimes, Oct 23, 2001.

  1. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    Hi
    I've just got a Supergrace Radeon 64Mb VE (do ATI even do a 64Mb VE?)
    I ordered it thinking it was just an ATI card (the website {www.aria.co.uk} didn't say any different)

    I was surprised to see that the card itself doesn't have two dsubs - it has a dsub and s-video then a little extension that fits in another case slot that has the second dsub.

    I'm worried that the drivers are not going to be the same as the ATI and that I will suffer in the pq stakes.

    Has anyone tried these - they said they'd take it back as long as it was this week - the only problem is I'm not going to build my pc until next weekend!

    I'm just going to have to make a decision without trying it so any help would be great.
    http://www.supergrace.com

    Thanks
    Alex

    (previously posted on AVS but with no luck!)
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Its just a OEM version of the ATI VE card, it most probably comes with bog standard ATI drivers. Even if it doesn't, I can't see why you couldn't download and use standard ATI drivers. The VE version is slightly different to the other Radeons anyway but unless you want to do some weird custom resolution stuff it should be OK.

    Jeff
     
  3. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    I'd certainly like to be able to do 1280x720p and 1280x960p at 71.928 and 75Hz

    Do you think this would be impossible?
    Has anyone else got a VE?

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  4. Mr A

    Mr A
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this the one that is specced as DDR dual head on the Aria site as I am trying to get one of these with the TV out.
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I don't think that it's impossible, but it might prove a little tricky. Let us know how you get on.

    Jeff
     
  6. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    Exactly that one - they also do one with DVI and TV out.
     
  7. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    I've got the non-DDR version with DVI and TV out.
    (the AE0304-187, the DDR one is AE0204-139)

    I can confirm it works very well. I'd set out to my friendly neighbourhood computer fair to buy a VE and this seemed the better option. The ATI one has a DVI to DSUB converter, whereas this one has 64MB as opposed to 32, DVI and DSUB on the card itself, and second DSUB and s-video (with a composite converter included). No fans on the board either if you're building a HTPC.

    Might be salesman b.s. but he reckoned that Supergrace manufactured ATI boards.

    Haven't tried ATI drivers but with those supplied and Powerstrip it seems to do the custom res. and refresh rates without bother.

    £10 cheaper too! (£60)

    It works for me, hope it does for you.

    Regards,
    Ian
     
  8. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    I took mine back but I'm still looking into it
    It's a shame that their Radeon DDR (not VE) has a fan.

    Let us know if you try the ATI drivers

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  9. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    What is the advantage of the ATI drivers?

    The Supergrace drivers are all labeled as being from ATI.
    It will do the resolutions and refresh rates you specified.

    I'll see if I'm brave enough to give the ATI drivers a try though/

    Ian Guinan
     
  10. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    If you can do the awkward refresh rates and resolutions (71.928Hz maybe at 1440x960) and you can watch a dvd from start to finish without a hitch and you are happy with the image quality then I would see no reason to try the ATI drivers.

    Most people that try the latest drivers are searching for more stability/compatability rather than more features.

    I guess I was just looking for confirmation that the cards were so similar that the ATI drivers work on the Supergrace card.

    Anyway, due to the cost (35+vat) I've just ordered it again (although with DVI our this time) and will give it a thorough going over next week!

    Thanks for the replies
    Alex
     

Share This Page

Loading...