Sumvision Cyclone Micro Player Adapter

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by Pedd, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. Pedd

    Pedd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I've spent about ten minutes scouring the site and can't find any reference to these :

    Sumvision Cyclone Micro Media Player Adapter HDMI, 1080P - Envizage Solutions Ltd

    ...I was wondering if anybody had any input/information? Any reviews? I'm in the market for a media player and, due to a recent addition to the family, would like it to be as cheap as possible (WDTV would be my fallback option, at more than twice the price). One concern is that it doesn't seem to play MKVs but I can probably live with that.

    Any info would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Pedd
     
  2. 7sons

    7sons
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Zooks

    Zooks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +98
  4. 7sons

    7sons
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    These are the reviews of this company from CIAO.

    not very positive.

    eclipse-computers.com (Eclipse Computers, Coventry) - Read reviews

    A recent review....

    Quick review of eclipse-computers.com (Eclipse Computers, Coventry)
    Review of eclipse-computers.com (Eclipse Computers, Coventry) by HW999

    It appears that Eclipse Computers have managed to let my credit card details out into the open. I have just had a call from my CC co. querying a number of transactions that have taken place recently which I didn't make.. needless to say these have been denied and the card cancelled. One issue remains though - these transactions were on the secondary card, and the ONLY place that card has been used was for an order from Eclipse Computers (the fact that Eclipse Computers didn't have the items in stock and took nearly two months to refund the card is irrelevant - read the other reviews and you'll see that's normal). Although I can't prove anything, I'd advise others to be wary.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 16, 2009
  5. Pedd

    Pedd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a nightmare 7Sons. I've been in a simillar situation, but it was a garage that had let my details slip. Still no word on the product review though, looks like we're playing the waiting game. Ahhhh! I remember when I'd have bought it just out of curiosity! :)
     
  6. 7sons

    7sons
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree. good price but bad company IMO.

    I am still thinking about buying one. but probably from CCL as they are just down the road from me. so any problems I can take it back.

    I think in the next few days I will be popping down and getting one and plugging my spare external hard drive in.
     
  7. 7sons

    7sons
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well I went a bought one.

    not impressed so far. plugged it in to the TV using composite cables, some messing around with the TV channels and the AV channels before I found the home page.

    Once I did get the home page up, the screen is jumping from a black and white picture and a colour picture periodically (checked cables and all secure). Remote control not responsive at all.

    Did not detect all the downloaded films that I have.

    The user manual which is on a mini CD is corrupt.

    I would not recommend this device.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 20, 2009
  8. nero101

    nero101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    just got one from post, works great! ok can't play mkv but plays standard xvid stuff. no black and white tv issue...

    :devil:
     
  9. jedifozzie

    jedifozzie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +204
    did you use this with hdmi and what files have you played i want to play vob
     
  10. nero101

    nero101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah hdmi is fine upscale it. 30 quid you can't complain. yeah it does vob i try it already. if you need more info check its website, Cyclone Micro Product

    i was planning get emprex model but i find this instead, seem to be better spec.:hiya:
     
  11. Member 362920

    Member 362920
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    bolton
    Ratings:
    +27
    just so you know this is basically the sumvision Phoenix DVD Player (standard DIVX/DVD Player) with HDMI output - USB/SD input Just without the Optical drive :)

    and its super small (about half the size of my iphone)

    Also wink wink - dont forget to check here

    Dont you guys from the fourms get a discount as well ?
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2009
  12. Neilypeel

    Neilypeel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bought one yesterday. Plays AVIs ok, but not all MPEGs. Not a massive problem, but there are two other quirks which annoy. I have a directory with loads of MPEGs and AVIs and none of them show up in the list! So there must be some kind of limit on the number of files you can have in one directory. Also MP3s do not play smoothly.

    Anyone had similar probs? Can you upgrade the firmware to fix anything?
     
  13. nero101

    nero101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    did you use a fat32 file system ... i noticed fat32 is not the best to use for a a large hdd, ntfs is more stable....
     
  14. Neilypeel

    Neilypeel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have no idea what my external HD is formatted as. Can't remember if I had to format it when I bought it.

    A new twist is it plays MP3s from an SD card no problem. That would tie in with the NTFS or FAT issue. Sounds like I'll need to empty my ext HDD and reformat it to NTFS.

    Watched quite a few films on it now just through the composite cable and am pleased with the quality, so I think I'm gonna keep it. Was only £23 after all.
     
  15. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    You don't have to Reformat. assuming you have a windows box at home somewhere...from an MS-DOS prompt

    Convert F: /fs:ntfs

    (change the F: to whatever drive letter it is on your PC)
     
  16. Neilypeel

    Neilypeel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks. My PC is dead at the moment, that's why I bought the media player, to access my films and music.

    Does this procedure write over your files though?
     
  17. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855

    No files are left intact. just the file system structure is changed.

    As with any disk structure change of such a major nature though it's always advisable to backup anything you really couldn't bear to lose..... just in case ;)
     
  18. Neilypeel

    Neilypeel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've just looked at the Sumvision manual and it can reformat to FAT32:

    "Reformat Menu
    Cyclone Micro can reformat the storage media devices using the FAT32 file
    system."
    However it does recommend using the windows tool instead if you can.

    It says the edit functions (ie copy, delete) do not work under NTFS, so I think my ext HDD must be NTFS as I've tried to delete a file and it didn't work.

    It also says:

    "* Please note the player will only recognise FAT, FAT32 and NTFS file systems on USB
    storage devices.
    * Recognises FAT and FAT32 on Memory cards."

    So memory cards are FAT? Didn't know that.

    In my music directory on the ext HDD, I have dozens of MP3 folders within the music directory - the media player can see the content in each MP3 folder but every MP3 in every folder jumps when you play it.
     
  19. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    If you reformat it using the Cyclone it will wipe the disk though.
     
  20. nero101

    nero101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    do you have a friend or family member pc you can backup your data to, and use they computer to reformat the drive?
    the drive may have bad sectors or damge... maybe that the reason why files not picking up......
    you got another ext drive you can test the player?
     
  21. steverton1

    steverton1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    does it play image files iso img ?
     
  22. v jones

    v jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi after buying one of these from ebay and received it 4 days later. i unpacked it and set it up in 5 mins i had it playing and was really happy with it .

    like the reviews already posted i found that some avi files did not play. this could be down to the compression being too low .i reformatted them with (magic video converter)and they play fine

    the picture quality is superb and that was only using composite cables not hi def

    plays dvd ts as i just ripped them from my dvds to hard disk and they played fine

    now the down side i had it 3 days and then suddenly it died no red light when plugged in

    totally frustrating so i am sending it back for a refund no way do i want a replacement after 3 days use . i wouldn't trust another one as i will be paying for the return postage.

    the bad points about this cyclone micro is the remote control it is useless. you have to get the angle perfect for the signal to be sent to the box . it is not like a tv remote you can point it anywhere and the tv will respond .this remote is so thin.
    it uses a watch battery and the instruction manual doesn't even mention how to replace it or how the remote is powered .
    that brings me to the blue light on the box ( i miss it even though i hated it when it worked )
    i dont understand why anyone would put a blue neon light that is so bright it distracts from actually watching anything on your tv
    my first thought was to turn it round so i couldn't see it .
    but with the poor remote control there was no way that would work .
    the remote control is as flat as a pancake and is just not comfortable to hold

    all i can say is if your looking to buy one of these buy it locally
    so if anything goes wrong you dont have to waist time and money posting it back.:thumbsdow
     
  23. Marsbar

    Marsbar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Would suggest using the freely available (30 day trial but you only need it once :clap: ) download of BootItNG to align the clusters on your FAT drive before running the convert, otherwise you may end up with 512byte clusters instead of the (more optimal, esp for large files like media) 4KiB.

    Boot Manager, Partition Manager, and Drive Image Utility - BootIt Next Generation

    As an aside, does anyone know if it's possible to get RGB out of these units?

    Ta

    Geoff
    www.weeklywhinge.com
     
  24. DoubleSpeed

    DoubleSpeed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there any other media players similar to this that you can simply plug-in a usb drive into?
     
  25. v jones

    v jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yip the western digital media player is good around £75 amazon check out the reviews.....
    i orderd the nbox from china ... from ebay £20 :rolleyes:
    looks good but not received it yet ...

    with the western digital box there has been alot off moaning it dosent play mkv as advertised
    but plays everything else looks good i would buy one but.....................

    MediaGate MG-M2TV HDTV Multimedia Movie, Video, MP3, Photo Media Player w/ 1080P, HDMI, SDHC Card Reader, RMVB RealVideo 10 Support, Remote: MG-M2TV (Retail) (FREE SHIPPING!)

    when this comes to the uk :lease: i will snap one up
     
  26. slyfirth

    slyfirth
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    anyone had this i can be watching a film on the sd card and it will just go to a black screen you have to turn it of and start it again anyone have any help:(
     
  27. shahvikram123

    shahvikram123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  28. Neilypeel

    Neilypeel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    It will either work or not work with any external hard drive. It is more dependant on how you're drive is formatted and what file formats you are trying to play through it. It simply connects via USB.
     
  29. shahvikram123

    shahvikram123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ah ok, my drive is formated in fat32 and the file formats are avi (xvids)
    i heard that some hard drives may not work because it requires more power than the usb port in the device ur connecting it too provides…
     
  30. v jones

    v jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello

    ok i used a 250gb 2.5 (mini hard drive ) works no problem

    now i got a 1000 gb hard drive and that works no problem

    the cyclone micro will work no problem with any hard drive ..

    its a great little machine .....:hiya:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice