1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Suggestions: Computer Speaker Setup, Budget 160£ - 220£

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Veniogenesis, Sep 24, 2005.

1. Veniogenesis

Veniogenesis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering if anyone could suggest me a setup for my computer. Be it just regular computer speakers or some sort of setup that interfaces with bookshelf speakers. :D Although I'm rather experienced with headphones, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to speakers.

I would like to spend around $300 USD (160£), or at most $400 USD (220£), for setup. :D Of course, if I don't need to spend that much to get what I want, that's even better.

Type of sound that I like:
    Very tight if possible, fast, good extension both low and high, nice soundstage. Extreme bass is not required.

What I want to do:
    Enjoy music.
    Movies and games are not important.

Music types:
    - JPop / JRock
    - Trance / Ambiance / Trance+Vocals
    - Instrumental Rock (Apocalyptica)
    - Thematic Choir and Gothic (Lord of the Rings, Gladiator, The Patriot, Batman Begins, etc.)
    - Industrial (Rammstein)
    - Rock and other stuff: Evanescence, Linkin Park style stuff

Source:
    Emu1212m

Thanks soooooo much everyone!

Cheers,
    Venio

2. pragmatic

pragmatic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    Generaly its going to be difficult to get bookshelf speekers with a good extension to the bassier regions.

I have seen some reviews in the hi fi press praising some makes of surround speakers for the pc as cheap viable alteratives to a 'real' setup, but usualy advised for smaller rooms. I'm not aware of any that are recomended for music though.