Question Suggestions Before I Build a NAS

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by liquidsoap89, Jul 7, 2018.

1. liquidsoap89

liquidsoap89

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hey everyone,

I'm currently in the planning stages with a NAS I want to build. I've never done this before, so a lot of this is on the verge of feeling overwhelming. To start things off...

-It'll primarily be used for movie rips (which I haven't done yet, more on that soon).
    -Right now I'm planning on building something that will be significantly more powerful than necessary for a NAS, mostly because I want to encode things on this system instead of my main PC (though that one's more than capable of encoding if I chose to go that way).
    -I'm currently planning on getting 4 6TB WD Reds, and I'm thinking Raid 1 will be my best option (I have about 700 movies and TV shows to rip, and I can currently get a blu-ray down to about 6.5GB, which I'm happy with).
    -I've been quite impressed with Plex based on what I've seen, so I'm thinking I'll set up a Plex server.

So, questions:
    1. FreeNAS, or Windows Server (2012 or 2016)? I can get Windows Server for free through school (hooray!), but I've heard lots of good things about FreeNAS. I'm moderately familiar with Windows Server, so that's certainly a plus, but does FreeNAS offer anything that Windows doesn't?
    2. I'm not quite clear on why I would want to set things up on VMs... Is that something I should be looking at? Alternative question: Docker? Are there any benefits to doing things that way?
    3. Is there any big reasons why I wouldn't want to rip/encode the movies directly on the server? I'd like to keep my main PC free for gaming/whatever, but not spending $2000 on a PC is an enticing idea if there are reasons I'd want to avoid doing that stuff on the server.
    4. In terms of security, is AV/anti-malware enough for the server?