1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Suggested receiver for Q1s

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by CodeThief, Jul 10, 2002.

1. CodeThief

CodeThief

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Anyone got any idea of the sort of level receiver I can use to make the Q1s sing for music and movies (When and if they ever bloody turn up). I don't want to spend loads but whats the minimum I should be looking at, because I don't want to waste them on a ****e receiver :)

Dave

2. naturally

naturally

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0

I personally use a denon 2802 to drive my six Q1's. I find it excellent, but then again I am not an expert. I listened to both music and movies, Movies sound excellent, and Music is very respectable.

There was a thread by Uncle Eric talking about the Q1's in this forum. He used an upper-end receiver with excellent results. I just could not pay that amount of money. For my purposes the 2802 is fine.

3. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +109
    Depends how many Q1's you've bought and what your priorities are really. If you just want 5.1 for movies AND the best sound under a grand with your music, get an Arcam AVR200 (£800). I just bought one and love it! My CD's are getting just as much action as my films now and Dolby Prologic II is the business too. 5.1 DVD's are a big step up from my Yamaha DSPAX620 - the Yam was just lifeless in stereo.

As for more surround speakers, I demoed the Denon 3802, but was not too impressed in stereo. I reckon your Q1's deserve better. Apparently the brand new Sony STRVA555ES is supposed to be great in stereo and surround and it has an extra channel for the rears (£1000, but discounted everywhere already). Also try Denon 2802 and Marantz 6200 which are also pretty good in stereo and fantastic with films.